We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish Accommodation was a real treat!”

Review of Heatherlea Cottage

Heatherlea Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heatherlea Cottage
Lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Heatherlea Cottage
Lounge with log burner
Fully fitted kitchen
Bedroom
Trearddur Bay Promenade
Local beach
The Beach
Trearddur Bay
Sunset Trearddur Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keir H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bizarre Hospitality”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived at Heatherlea cottage for my birthday weekend and were greeted by a helpful and pleasant Ed. The cottage is lovely and there was enough space for 4 adults. The cottage is decorated to a high standard and it's very clean.

Our stay at Heatherlea cottage was good overall but we did have a couple of gripes. The first issue was the shower, this was very temperamental and went ice cold about 10 times each shower we had.

The location of the cottage is pretty good and if you have a car there is lots of lovely places to see locally.

We booked the cottage for 3 nights from Friday and left on Monday. Sadly on the Sunday before we went out Laura knocked on the cottage door to ask for the remainder of the balance. We've stayed in cottages many times and this is the first time we've been approached for the money part way through our holiday. We'd already paid a deposit and were happy to pay the remainder of the full balance before we left but in our own time. Unfortunately I didn't have £170 in cash on me so I just felt it was awkward and distasteful.

We then went out to get the cash to clear the remainder of the balance as we felt under pressure and when I knocked on Laura's door at the house a child in the garden said "whys he knocking on my door" which I found odd and inappropriate. I was then greeted by Laura who quizzed me about my smoking habits and asked if I'd smoked cigarettes in the cottage?! I was utterly shocked and felt as though I had to defend myself, no apology was made for insinuating I'd smoked in the cottage. We then paid the £170 which cleared the balance to stop any further visits from Laura to ask for the remainder of the balance.

Additionally wifi didn't work in the cottage and there is no phone reception.

Three of us are 30 years old and I'm 37 and it just felt at times that Laura judged us and not in a good way.

So in conclusion we wouldn't stay at Heatherlea cottage again due to the poor service we received from Laura but Anglesea is stunning and we'll be happy to go back but just to another cottage closer to the sea.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules K
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Stylish Accommodation was a real treat!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed two nights which were booked at the last minute and Laura was very friendly and helpful on the phone, giving directions and tips on where to visit/eat. We were delighted with the cottage, which was very clean and stylishly decorated with every home comfort you could need. The welcome pack of bread, milk, eggs and butter was a thoughtful touch. Although the cottage is situated within the owners' garden, it is so private that this isn't a concern at all. The bed is really comfortable, the shower is nice and hot, there is a wood burning stove which we loved to spend cosy evenings in front of. There is a DVD player which we found useful and a small selection of DVDs for guests' use. We felt really at home here and wished our stay had been longer. The Bay is walkable (approx 7 mins) and is very pretty and tranquil. During our stay we visited South Stack Lighthouse, 3.5 miles from the cottage and Newborough Beach both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. We ate at the White Eagle which is dog friendly, approximately 10 mins drive from the cottage and found this to be excellent food although it arrived rather quickly and is quite expensive. Laura and Ed were great hosts and were there to provide information if needed, but did not intrude. We would highly recommend a visit to this cottage if you like spotlessly clean accommodation with all the attention to detail you could require (hair dryer/sewing kit/torch/iron and ironing board). We hope to return one day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clogwyn9
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed from April 8 to 12 at Heatherlea cottage. Deciding to go for a
short break only a couple of days earlier, we saw that it was free and
booked it without any further investigation. What a pleasant surprise!
We arrived at the most comfortable cottage one could imagine. At first
we were a bit worried how it might be to stay in what appeared to be the
owner's back garden but that soon went. After a warm welcome and assurance
that we just had to ask if we needed anything, we were
left to ourselves, just as we like it. The "starter kit" of bread, Welsh
butter and milk (we'd been asked if we would like to have eggs too,
but we declined) as well as coffee, tea and sugar was lovely, and the
daffodils on the window sill were the icing on the cake. Heatherlea is
very well equipped and there is no extra charge for the central heating
or the basket of logs. All windows have a garden view which is really
nice. The cottage is situated near the edge of the village but the beach is
just 10 minutes' walk away via the public footpath from the end of the road. We had great weather but even if you are not so lucky and decide to stay indoors, we feel sure you will be warm and comfortable. We would definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Modern, clean, comfortable, warm.
Liked least: Cooker hood a bit low for anyone over 5ft 5ins. using the hob, and lack of curtain/blind over kitchen window.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our fourth stay at this beautiful cottage and will defiantly be going again”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Every time we stay at the Heatherlea we never want to leave. Its like home from home, It has everything you need for your stay including little extra's to get you started like eggs, milk, bread and butter. Every stay we have also been greeted with fresh flowers on the table as you walk in, on our most recent visits we had some lovely daffodils, These little touches from Laura and the family are the icing on the cake.
We have stayed from two nights up to five and no matter how long we stay we alway leaving completely relax. There is plenty to do, nice local pub's, National trust castle's and walks, plenty of beach''s, go karting a short drive away and much more.
The cottage is set only a short walk from the beach perfect for nice walks as the sun sets. The cottage is always warm and cosy and the log burner is perfect to get snuggled in front of after those long walk on the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylietheK...
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Great cottage, beautifully presented. Lovely touch with welcome pack, along with a card & chocolates as we where celebrating our wedding anniversary. Great location in the fabulous Trearddur Bay. Great that we could let the dogs into the garden too for early morning run. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hard to choose one thing..... all fabulous
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing