We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
268
238
132
66
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
238
132
66
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower house bar meals lovely hotel breakfast was buffet style no lift hotel restaurant swimming pool pub food sea view standard room both nights lovely room weekend break room was large family room food was lovely lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Absolutely stunning location. Fab room in the lodge facing the bay. Room was lovely with patio doors onto small balcony. Staff were fantastic, especially Kacey on reception, nothing was too much trouble. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the food. Breakfast was buffet style from 7am to 9:30 am and I'm sure the black pudding had been there all the time. The rest of the breakfast food was just ok. The food in the Inn on the Bay, part of the hotel, was mediocre on the first night and only slightly better on the second. Had an allowance not been included in our package we would certainly not have eaten there the second night. We would definitely return but would only do breakfast and would only have continental at that!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl O, Sales/Events Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us this honest review. We are constantly looking for improvement throughout each department and from this we can review and discuss how we can improve our guests stay with us. Our breakfasts are constantly checked throughout service periods to replenish, if on this occasion we have fallen short on the black pudding I can only apologise.

On the positives, we certainly have a unique location on the tip of Anglesey with views at times over the Llyn Peninsula. I'll certainly pass on the positive remarks on Kacey of which she'll be happy to receive the recognition of her great customer care.

In the meantime, if you'd wish to discuss your stay further I'd be happy to take your call at any point

Regards and we hope to see you again very soon

Carl Owen
Sales/Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Nice to have a view of the bay (and a small balcony) but the room was quite small. Expensive for what it was £180 per night B and B. Cooked break fast not served in time for ferry but, in fairness, this is probably a holiday hotel. The one cooked breakfast we had was OK but I had to wait 10 minutes for any bacon or eggs on the buffet and when the eggs turned up they looked as though they had been cooked a while!
Staff friendly and efficient. Considering the location, a lot could be done to make this an A1 hotel.

Room Tip: If a large bed is your priority, make sure you ask for it.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pacmanRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl O, Sales/Events Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us.

Our breakfasts are served between 7.00am and 9.30am Monday to Friday and 8.00am and 10.30am on weekends, except Bank Holidays. We are more than happy to make a "takeaway" breakfast sandwich or continental option on requests, if our guests make our Reception Team aware of an early check-out or if they are leaving before these service times. We are always looking for constant improvement in our guests stay with us here at The Trearddur Bay Hotel, and feedback is the only way we can strive to improve.

I'd be happy to discuss your stay further if you'd prefer.

Kind regards and we hope to see you again very soon

Carl Owen
Sales/Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I ordered crispy potato skins...nasty microwaved skins arrived. With limo bland leaves. Just horrid. Cost £4.95, didn’t bother eating it. Won’t return either. Wanted to watch the World Cup but they put rugby on all TVs so that’s another reason, the one star is that the Sauvignon Blanc was nice.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi Alan

I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience with us in our "Inn at The Bay" pub. We only have terrestrial TV which seriously limits and renders it almost impossible to show the rugby. We have so far shown every single match of the world cup that has been available to my knowledge so if you could possibly call me to clarify the situation i would be very much grateful as i would like to verbally rectify this matter.

Kind Regards
Chris
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I stayed at this hotel for a few days so we could explore Anglesey.
It is in a great location just opposite the beach and on the outskirts of Holyhead with the retail park not far away either.
The hotel's swimming pool is a nice place to relax after a day out. Not the biggest but at around 12m certainly good enough for some laps.
We ate in the restaurant each night out of choice as the food was excellent, the staff service brilliant and hats off to the chefs who were very flexible with what we wanted.
The bedroom was of a reasonable size along with the bathroom with nice bath and shower however that's where all the positive reviews stop.
The mattress was shocking - looked about 20 years old with a big hole where the springs had collapsed - one night and I asked for it to be changed and pointed out how utterly terrible it was. The second mattress was in fariness a little better starting at around 6 inches and then sagging unloaded to about 3 inches .. did I sleep well on any night .. NO
I pointed this out again but it was pretty much too late to change it again.
The only point I did raise is why for an expensive high quality hotel did they even have mattresses of this poor condition ---new ones aren't that expensive.
Hopefully they will upgrade their beds but until they do so I won't be staying there

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aiwai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl O, Sales/Events Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for giving the time to give us your review. From this we have reviewed our beds in all our rooms and have ordered new mattresses for a number of the rooms located throughout the hotel and we hope they will be delivered and in place by the end of this week. Our GM has asked me to convey his apologise for any discomfort on your recent stay and thank you for your honest feedback.

On the positives, we glad you've had a good insight on what Anglesey and in particular Trearddur Bay has to offer for our visitors. Our Bay Restaurant has had a recent change is style and service which has seen a dramatic upturn in customers and positive feedback.

So, hopefully, in the not too distant future we can welcome back very soon

Kind regards
Carl Owen
Sales/Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Attempted to book a twin for myself and my daughter. Offered a family room and accepted. Were catching the 8.55am ferry to Dublin the following day. Arrived at the hotel at about 9.30pm. Room was spacious. Second bed was a pull-out sofa that was uncomfortable and creaked quite a bit each time my daughter moved during the night, thus rendering sleep for me virtually impossible.
Shower over bath (I absolutely hate them!) - shower head was too low and ceiling showed a quite a bit of dampness, Paper pealing from the ceiling. Breakfast the following morning was quite good. Freshly cooked as we were down at 7am. Staff quite friendly. £184 for one night quite expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A8769XGjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl O, Sales/Events Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us this review.

Apologise if there was any discomfort during your recent stay with us. From your review we have looked at the maintenance issues you have told us and we are looking to resolve these matters with urgency.

If you'd like to discuss your stay further I'd be happy to discuss at anytime.

Kind regards
Carl Owen
Sales/Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews