We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW - Excellent Cottage with Everything you Could...”
other travellers have booked this property
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Celebrate in style!
Downstairs bath and shower room
At the top of the stairs, left door is the second bedroom and right door is en-suite for Master.
Our outside area goes as far as the wall, close to the loungers
Hen Gamdda Fawr floor plan
Spectacular South Stack!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benllech, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greg L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Excellent Cottage with Everything you Could Want and Great Location!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After looking at the pictures on the web which we both really liked it was time to see the place for real...we were not disappointed!!!
What a lovely, cosy cottage with all the home comforts...
Great location and only a 10 minute walk from the main road (A5025) and the bus stops....we arrived by car but used public transport to get around as were walking the Anglesey Coastal Path.
The cottage is off the road and has views of the sea in between the two neighbouring properties, it is a really quiet location and if your lucky the two horses in the field next to the cottage always welcome new visitors!
We plan on coming back later this year!
Now that's a pat on the back to Helen the owner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had everything we wanted and was lovely and cosy with off road parking.
Liked least: It rained one day......but that;s nature!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for a great review. We are so pleased you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back later this year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D W
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in this lovely house, very clean, equipped with many extras and very well presented. Just a short drive to the beach, shops and great restaurants yet being in a private and quiet location with a sea view through the trees from the property. The welcome goodies were a lovely touch. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. A peaceful haven was what we needed and we certainly found it at Hen Gamdda Fawr also in an ideal location to explore the beauty of Anglesey with it's breathtaking views especially from the coastal paths. We look forward to coming back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your great review. We are really pleased that you had a lovely time staying at Hen Gamdda Fawr and we would certainly welcome you back in the future. Thank you again Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house, lovely surroundings and tip top beaches”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Hen Gamdda Fawr from the moment we walked into the welcoming entrance: lots of exposed stone, slate windowsills combined with modern facilities ensured a comfortable visit. The owners provided good information about the house, places to visit and a range of local restaurants: the ones we visited were excellent. A garden offering sun and shade with lovely views helped us to relax and the nearby beaches were excellent. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General ambience of house
Liked least: Really enjoyed everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Mary M for your lovely review of Hen Gamdda Fawr. We are so pleased you loved your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-ann T
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

So first we were so impressed to find a cottage that was available for a short break! The cottage was really easy to find and as soon as we arrived we felt very at home. My boyfriend went training on his bike and I literally drove 5 minutes and was walking on the beach. The main bed was enormous with lovely luxurious bedding and towels. The only TINY thing was it would have been nice to have had some logs for the fire on the first night. We lit what was there the first night and it just went out!!

South stack lighthouse was pretty amazing and worth a visit. Especially with beautiful blue sky!! The next couple of days were wet and windy which gave us the perfect excuse to hang out in the cottage. The cottage is cosy enough for a couple but equally suitable for a family.

Would certainly recommend to family and friends and anyone else that wants to sample the delights of Anglesey. We might even come back one day!!! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how relaxed it felt
Liked least: some logs for the fire would be nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you for your review Lee-ann. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hen Gamdda Fawr and the surrounding area. Apologies for the lack of first night fire, this was an unusual oversight. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and it would be great to have you stay with us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect location for a relaxing break and enjoying quality time with your family and friends.”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hen Gamdda Fawr for 10 days over the Easter break and had the most wonderful time. The cottage itself is immaculately presented, cosy and had everything we needed to immediately feel at home.
Close by to excellent beaches, wonderful restaurants and lots more to do a short drive away, including a great spa and watching RAF fighter jets in training - a perfect location for a relaxing break and enjoying quality time with your family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for this lovely review Anna L. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and thank you for re-booking for 2 weeks in the summer. We look forward to welcoming you again for more fun and adventures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing