We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin Looking up at the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin
Looking up at the entrance
picnic area outside the cabin
View of the cabin
View from the veranda of the cabin
cupboard and shelves inside the cabin, all hand made
wood burner in the cabin
Cosy double bed
Inside the cabin
Dining area inside the cabin
Our first honeymoon couple
lit by candle light
Gas barbecue sheltered underneath the elevated cabin for rainy days
Eco toilet next to the cabin
Main cabin bathroom approx 100m walk through the woods from the cabin
Main cabin bathroom
Entrance to the woodland
woodland walk on our doorstep
red squirrel on the feeders
View across the Menai Strait from Friars bay just a few minutes drive from here
Penmon and puffin Island (10 mins drive from here)
View from White Beach (15mins drive from here)
Beautiful walk to Aber Falls (20mins drive from here)
view between the hills on the walk to Aber Falls
Bridge at Aber Falls
Llyn Crafnant, Trefriw
Menai Suspension Bridge, gate way to Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
WillisTi
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Squirrels nest was wonderful, and so peaceful! Loads of wildlife. The cabin was great, and the bed very comfortable. Nan and John were brilliant hosts, and so helpful.

It was an extra special weekend for us, as we got engaged!

We will be returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I can't tell you how delighted we are to be part of your engagement and that you chose to come to our eco cabin for your very special occasion.
Big congratulations to you both.
Also, thank you both so much for the lovely review you have given for Nyth Y Wiwer. We are so happy that you found it warm and comfortable. Needless to say that you are both welcome anytime and will always have a warm welcome. Take care and best wishes for your future together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sambage
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Amazing place in lovely surroundings. Eco cabin is perfect equipped with everything you needed. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer, our eco cabin. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to be satisfactory. It was a pleasure to meet you and you will always find a warm welcome if you decide to visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was looking to get away from it all for a few days, and this is THE perfect place. Surrounded by nature but close to Beaumaris, the lodge is very well-equipped and gives you all you need to feel completely rested. You know instantly you are somewhere very special. With your own little wood, the sound of the stream nearby, red squirrels on your doorstep and perfect views over the Straight, this really is the only place to go for a few days' rest and relaxation.
Nan and John (and the dogs) are the perfect hosts - so helpful, warm and friendly. I can't wait to go back.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer. We are delighted that you found our eco cabin comfortable and welcoming. It was a pleasure to have you come and stay and you can be sure that you will always find a warm welcome here anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaLord
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a magic place!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this place because of peace and quiet that everyone mentioned in their review. I have not paid attention to facilities, so when the penny dropped and I realised there is no electricity, I was bit worried. I should not have been. The cabin is well equipped. There is drinking water provided, candles, wood for log burner, cutlery, pans and pots, plates, cups.... All that is needed to make simple meals. Under the cabin, there is a barbecue and a gas stove. Cooling box with ice packs is also provided. Eco loo is perfect for use if you don't fancy going to the bathroom, which is 100m away. Bathroom is just for use of the cabin, clean - what else is needed? Power points are provided near the bathroom.
But what makes this place magic are its settings and owners Nan and John. We were greeted on our arrival by both. Nan showed us round and John took our stuff to the cabin in his mule (little truck thing). Nan and John are very welcoming and make you feel at home straight away. They respect your privacy completely, but if you are chatterbox like me, they will happily chat to you like an old friends. They were part of our fantastic experience. The settings. - the only way I can describe then is WOW!!! You have to see for yourself what it is about.
I work in travel industry and had chance to take my husband to some beautiful places, but none of them had an impact on him as this one. With woods, no clock, red squirrels, birds and quiet - you get completely lost in time. We are already planning our next visit. Nan and John - see you soon. PS: two German shepards Koyo and Lucak are pretty amazing too :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you both so much for the fantastic review for Nyth Y Wiwer our eco cabin. It makes us both feel extremely happy to know that our visitors have enjoyed staying here. This time of the year is great because all the wild flowers are out and the woods are a carpet of blue and white from the blue bells and wild garlic and all the birds are busy singing all day long.
We really enjoyed our chats with you and you will always be welcome here. We really look forward to seeing you both again any time you want to come. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommyboy4...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We fell in Love with this Amazing place”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can i say about this place WOW WOW WOW. We loved this place. It was so idyllic, the surroundings were amazing. we had a lovely views and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. the bed was so comfy we wanted to take it home. Nan and John the owners of the premises were so helpful and amazing hosts and couldn't do enough to help. We advise anyone to go and visit Aber Falls it was so beautiful. so wanted to stay longer thank you Nan and John for giving us an amazing bank holiday to remember, we will be coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Oh My Word! What can we say to you both. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review for Nyth Y Wiwer. We can only say that it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are so so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our eco cabin. I think it goes without saying that we would always love to have you back and you will always find a real warm welcome here with us. Thanks again Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing