We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
views across the Glaslyn Estuary and Tremadog Bay opposite Portmeirion, the Italianate village Lounge with log burner for your use, cosy nights in are one of our favourites
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
views across the Glaslyn Estuary and Tremadog Bay opposite Portmeirion, the Italianate village
Lounge with log burner for your use, cosy nights in are one of our favourites
Lounge with stunning uninterrupted views across the Glaswyn Estuary where you can watch the sun set
Open air garden room to enjoy afternoon tea or an evening relaxation with views of Port Meirion
View of the front garden from the front door & the 26 acre estate which you can explore to the f
Garden to the left of the property for children to play and explore with fencing to the field
Pathways through the well stocked front gardens
View of the cottage from the driveway in front of the cottage
Main double bedroom with French Windows opening onto the garden room
Front childrens bedroom with ample toys, books, games and beach toys
Rear bedroom over looking the Glaswyn Estuary & Portmeirion, the Italianate village
Ty-Gwyn on Caerffynnon Hall Estate set in 26 acres including an 11th Century hill top fort
Brand new shower room fitted in January '16
Kitchen with Neff Hobb & cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer, toaster, washer and dryer
Dining area which is an intergral part of the main lounge and back door to rear garden/decking area
Go Karting at Glasfryn Parc, wakepark, Ten-Pin Bowling, Archery, nr Pwllheli
Quad bikes all year round at Glasfryn Parc - well worth a visit.
Whitewater Rafting Centre near Bala is in our opinion the best in the country and a must do activity
The 11 century lookout fort at the top of Caerffynnon woods with stunning views of Tramadog bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Talsarnau, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann4915
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a fabulous find! A great bungalow which was well furnished in a lovely location overlooking the estuary and Port Merion. There were two fabulous beaches within 15 minutes drive Harlech and Black Rock Sands. Portmadog has lots to offer including 3 supermarkets and a pretty harbour. There was a welcome pack on arrival which was much appreciated after a long drive. We had a great week in this beautiful part of wales and would come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
All new outside lighting will be installed on 20/21 May from the car parking area to our property. New storage heaters are being installed and the new bathroom was completed 6 weeks ago. So pleased you enjoyed your break @ Ty-Gwyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy37
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not suitable for more than four”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last whit week and now i am back in Wales in a different holiday cottage, I do feel compelled to state a few facts about tyGwynn. I booked it for my family of four and my parents. The cottage was simply not big enough for 6 people. There are four dining chairs around a tiny table that is so cramped behind a sofa that even four is an uncomfortable squeeze. The sofa area seats four which always left us feeling very claustrophobic with some around a tiny dining table and others on sofas. The cottage is basic in decoration and functional. The owner seemed perfectly pleasant though a couple of queries about heating which didnt work had to be solved over the phone which took some time. I dont normally bother to leave reviews but now i am in wales again in a cottage that seems to meet the description advertised closely i do feel a bit aggrieved that tygwynn seemed to suggest it was suitable for 6 which it simply is not. I am not sure where the five star reviews come from but the facts match the photos of the property, the living areas are suitable and cosy for four. I do admit it had six beds though. Where a seventh bed would fit for the advertised sleeps 6 or 7 though i have no idea.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for your comments I remember your visit well, the cottage sleeps, the dining room table does only seat 4 and appreciate the agitation factor of this.

Your comment about basic and functional could be misinterpreted so we will clarify this, the property had a �65K spend in 2010 and a further �11K in November 2015. The settees are Wesley Barrell, the bedding is all White Company and we believe we have equipped the property for a cosy holiday break.

The heating did work, its night storage heaters on economy 7 which you didn't comprehend in addition to an Aga wood burning stove.

Its interesting that yours is the only negative comment to be received in the past 3 years and I do apologise that we did not meet your exceptional standards, may I suggest you stay in 5 star proprieties in future and not 4 star as ours is sensibly rated.

I'm all for constructive critisism, this is a property sold on location and views, but please be factual not bitter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajitsures...
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing weekend in the Beautiful and gorgeous welsh cottage”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights along with my friends (6 people). The cottage was very comforting and was presented in a very homely and cozy fashion. The cottage had all the amenities you would imagine in your own house. Tastefully decorated with a lovely wood fired fireplace in the living room. The cottage provided us a home away from home :)...

Extremely satisfied with the stay and definitely recommended for people and families who need a relaxed atmosphere coupled with lovely views of the estuary.

Only negative aspect is of non-availability of Wi-Fi in the property. But there is a great 3G reception of Three network and O2 .. so you can utilize the the data plan if its unlimited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, Feeling of Home away from Home, the relaxed atmosphere & The wood burning fireplace
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dweendled
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Ty Gwyn this summer and were lucky to have glorious sunny weather as well. The cottage is in a lovely spot and the views over the estuary are amazing. There is a covered verandah at one end where we sat out every evening until too dark to see, because the view was so lovely we didn't want to go indoors. No TV was watched the whole week! The cottage was very well equipped it was a bit like a home from home with games in the children's rooms and a few CDs and DVD's to watch. There are steps into the property and also a side access from the car park through the garden. We found it a perfect base to explore the local area and beyond and have planned to visit again next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy H
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing stay in beautiful North Wales”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked the cottage for myself, and my husband who are in ours 60s, and my grown up daughter. We were also able to bring our dog, which was lovely as we didn't want to holiday without him.
The cottage was in a wonderful quite setting, and had amazing views over the countryside. We had access to the grounds in which the cottage was set, and this became a high light to our holiday. We all spent the evenings taking a lovely long walks with the dog, and were very impressed with it. The facilities in the cottage were second to none, we have everything we could have needed during our stay. The kitchen was fully equipped, and had everything required for eating in, which we did every evening. The bedrooms were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets, and none of us had any trouble sleeping. The bathroom was clean and had a lovely shower as well a bath. The living room was very cosy at night, with a large TV and plenty of DVDs to watch, we did make use of these, as most evenings the telly is rubbish anyway. There was a wide range of books and games if we were bored and stuck indoors, but luckily we did manage to get out every one of the seven days we were there, even though a couple of the days the weather was not very kind. There is a great deal to see and we visited many places, most of these were found in the house book of information that was on the table in the living room. That was very useful and gave us plenty of inspiration for the day. Overall we had a wonder week and would come back again. I also wanted to add to anyone that has concerns about the steps at the front of the cottage, I am in my mid 60s and slightly disabled and use a walking stick, but I did not have any problems with the steps. The steps are wide and easy to navigate and there is a secure handrail to use, so please do not be worried about them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing