We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”
Review of Lion Inn

Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We serve a variety of meals from a BLT to a Trio of Game - wild boar hare and venison - All of our food is freshly cooked to order and always locally sourced. We are a traditional Inn that serves exceptionally good food. We are well known for the variety of real ales available and during the summer months we always have real perry and real cider also available.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

I returned to the lion inn for lunch and got a lovely welcome the food was fresh and hot the selection of ales was first class decently still the best all-round pub in the county 5 out of 5 from me

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jeffhC5281QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

This was a marvellous find. The pub is small and not glamorous but the service and food is absolutely fantastic. It is an excellent country pub. It can get very busy because local people come from miles around to eat here. The choice of food is quite wide and they offer smaller portions or hearty meals. All food and drink is locally sourced if possible. I ate the faggots and they are made by a butcher who now is based in Chepstow (near The George) and who used to work at The Gourmet in Monmouth, where the faggots were exceptional.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

On the way back from the Cotswolds via the New Forest we were looking for a bite to eat after a large hotel breakfast and a nearby forestry walk. We found The Lion Inn and were delighted we did. We had "lighter bite" meals and these were delicious and freshly prepared - lasagne and fish and chips. Good food is always worth the wait, so go there when you're not in a rush. This gives the added bonus of savouring a coffee (in my wife's case) whilst I thoroughly enjoyed a pint of Butty Bach! Tasty food and drinks, a really good price and excellent service made it a great visit for us. Thanks from a happy pair from Cardiff. We'll certainly be back when we're next in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MARK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic dinner here.
The three of us all enjoyed the top quality food and homely atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ambassador84119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stayed at the Lion Inn, in their converted outbuilding at the back. Really comfortable accommodation, delightful staff and very good food and local beers in the evenings. The prices are very reasonable too! Located between Chepstow and Monmouth it provides an ideal base to explore the area. Highly recommended - we will be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion Inn also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing