We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A must visit cottage”
Becher's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Becher's Cottage
Springtime at the front gate Private Patio & Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Becher's Cottage
Springtime at the front gate
Private Patio & Garden
Front door to Becher's Cottage
Living Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Dressing table in double bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View from the farm
Driveway to cottage
The 13C  bridge over the River Monnow which guards the entrance to Monmouth town
Bustling Monnow Street in Monmouth - all sorts of independent shops to browse
Winter time but still cosy and warm inside!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IsobelSco...
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must visit cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This little cottage was immaculate very well equipped and planned out. Offered everything we required in a lovely working farm setting with lovely welcoming owners
John and Edwina Huckle
Beautiful views over the Welsh countryside quiet and peaceful with little villages dotted here and there on route and the beautiful town of Monmouth only 5 miles away
Perfect for 4 people. clean very comfortable beds and lovely en-suites in both rooms

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham S
1 review
“Lovely cottage and fantastic location!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Becher's is a really lovely cottage - spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with all you need to enjoy a fantastic break. Edwina and John are delightful - friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The countryside around is nothing short of breathtaking. A really great place to get away from it all! We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_and_DL
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Too Good to keep to yourself!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Staying at Becher's Cottage was a thoroughly relaxing and hugely enjoyable experience in every respect. The natural beauty of the area makes Becher's a superb location, but it's also ideally positioned close enough to everything you need whilst still allowing you to be far from the Madding Crowd. John and Edwina are thoughtful and considerate hosts. Would we like to return? Most certainly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
London
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome little gem in the Welsh countryside.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Bechers Cottage for two nights at the end of January and loved it.

The cottage is extremely spacious for a two bed, very clean and has lovely decor. It is extremely comfortable and you feel at home immediately. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and there is wifi if you really feel the need for it.

We don't have children but it would be perfect if you did. The back garden is enclosed and safe, there is a stair gate available if you need it and I imagine seeing the horses and other pets would be great for children.

Edwina and John are excellent hosts. We arrived quite late on the Friday night having driven from London and it wasn't a problem. They were friendly and welcoming. I had car issues while we were there and John helped jump start it for us. We were heading to Monmouth and he insisted that we call him if we got stuck. Thankfully we didn't need to but it was so kind of him to offer!

We loved the location on the farm and it was great to wake up surrounded by farmland and see the horses and dogs.

We rent cottages on a regular basis and this is definitely a favourite of ours, one we would recommend and one we hope to come back to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillybean...
warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for Christmas”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The cottage was lovely and cosy, with a Christmas tree waiting for us! Very well equipped cottage and in a lovely part of the world - shame about the weather!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing