We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Ysgubor (The barn).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time The log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time
The log store
Cottage 2 Ty Golchi's garden
Bluebells on the drive up to the cottages
Torrent walk, accessible from the cottage
View from cottage towards a hill Moel Caerynwch
Cregennan Lake nearby
Overlooking Barmouth from Cregennan Lake
Cregennan Lake on the foothills of Cader Idris mountain
Cader Idris above the clouds
Aran fawddwy
Diffwys
Games Room
View from Ysgubor Patio.
Ysgubor fireplace.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor.
Ysgubor Patio doors
Ysgubor twin bedroom.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor double beamed bedroom.
Games Room
Y stabal Kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my family stayed at Ty Golchi (the washouse) which is part of Hellmau cottages for a short break. We were made to feel very welcome by Janet and Adam and arrived to a warm, cosy cottage. There wasn't one thing they hadn't thought of every need was catered for. There was an information pack in the cottage which they had put together which contained all the information you would need places to visit etc.
Janet will even make breakfast to order for a very small charge and left Welsh cakes for us on arrival. As we travelled with two little girls we were extremely pleased when we found the toys for the children to play with in one of the bedrooms. There was also a safety gate which was essential for us, everything was in place.
I would not hesitate in returning, a stunning cottage with stunning views of the mountains.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. As we have children of our own, we remember (not so long ago) what takes the stress out of taking small children on holiday and good to know that we are succeeding! Thank you for booking again next New Year, we love having guests returning :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mum-rin
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic - will definitely return”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a short break here this weekend, we were two families staying in the stable cottage. There were 4 adults and 5 children plus the dog.

We all had a fantastic stay, and wished we could have stayed longer.

Janet the owner is really lovey, friendly and very welcoming.

The cottage is very cozy with all its traditional features and charm. It is very well equipped and clean and there was nothing we though "ahh we forgot to bring.." As it was already there.

We all fitted it perfectly and had ample space. The children loved the games room and the football field and enjoyed walking down to the horses.

This place is a little hidden treasure and is the perfect place to unwind from the everyday rat race and recharge your batteries. Beautiful surrounding the biggest outdoor table I've seen was perfect for drinks in the evening by the chiminea.

The torrent walks nearby are a to-do really lovely part of Wales and one in which we will definitely return too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment. It was lovely meeting you all and sampling a glass of your home made wine!Hopefully see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolipop17...
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is lovely and well equipped. It has everything you need from utensils to games/dvds and books. The cottage caters for all ages and is extra brilliant for children as there is a games room, a play area outside, horses which you can go and visit and feed your apples which we loved doing :-) a large field with goal posts for games when the weather is nice. Just across the road from the cottage is a beautiful forest walk which is 1.7 miles long in total. It is about a 15 minute drive to Barmouth which is gorgeous - we went there most days and also about 20 minutes to Fairbourne where you can get the steam train. We also took the children to the King Arthur Museum where you can take a boat ride through the mines which is a really good day if the weather is not so good. Basically if you are looking for a chilled week/weekend or something for a bit of activity and relax this cottage is perfect. Location is great and owners are very helpful and friendly. Hope to visit again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsh2
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wash House. Enjoyable well kitted out cottage - good for children”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A sharp turn off the road leads to the cottages - easy to miss. Well placed for country or town. Very pleasant and helpful owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: hot stuffy bedroom during a heat wave 30 oC.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review, much appreciated, once the road works have finished (hopefully this month) the access will be easier to spot! Glad you enjoyed your stay :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zimman
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B with a great host in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My friends stayed in this lovely B&B the week before christmas 2012 and loved it. I had a last minute opportunity to travel to Dolgellau with my niece to do some cycling and couldn't believe my luck when there had been a cancellation! The B&B is attached to the owners house being in the old stable but the beauty is it is completely self contained. It is very comfortable with everything you need. Janet brought us a lovely breakfast each morning which we ate outside in the sunshine. We were full up for the day and enjoyed our cycling on the nearby Mawddach trail and enjoyed lovely pub meals at the nearby Gwernan lake hotel and the George lll hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and i heartily recommend it for a relaxing value for money break. Diolch yn fawr

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you both here to stay and glad the weather was sunny enough for you to enjoy breakfast "al fresco". Hopefully see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;