We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Melinsoch

Melinsoch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Melinsoch
Abersoch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Melinsoch
Abersoch
Melinsoch
Millers Room
Family room
dining room
Living room
3rd bedroom
Kitchen
Millers room
Main beach
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Abersoch, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LHInWhite...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I just returned from 4 days here (3 nights) here. It was my first time in Abersoch - it had been recommended by my friend. We had a fabulous time, the cottage is lovely, quaint and comfortable and the owner is really helpful.
I went with my son (turned 13 the day before we arrived) and my dog and my friend and her daughter joined us for part of the time to show us the best places. I would say that it's absolutely perfect for a family - lots to do on the doorstep and Melinsoch is well situated with all of the equipment you'd need. You take your own bedding covers and towels but I'd prefer that anyway. The garden is perfect for kids to explore and the restaurants on the doorstop are to die for eg Coconut Kitchen and Manana. A day on copious beaches, a drink and a meal in the village and a cosy chat by the open fire back at the cottage - what more could you want? We had the added benefit of bright blue skies and fab sunshine too!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower quality
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hearing from you again in the future, Kind regards Jalna and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison51...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend away in a great cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Melinsoch cottage, it was very spacious and full of character. It was in private grounds and so close to the beach,village and all the amenities. It was set in lovely gardens and only wished the weather would have been better so we could have sat out. The cottage was well equipped. Only small downfall was the heaters downstairs didn't seem to heat the downstairs and the one in the lounge kept going off, upstairs was lovely and warm. I would highly recommend this cottage and would definitely look to book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will take your comments into consideration. Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran1230
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous family get away”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We got lost trying to find the house as it is up a fairly long track, but once we arrived it was full of Character. Our family was a party of 7 and the down-stairs area was perfectly set out and suitable to suit the needs for all of the family members, As with some of the other reviews I also want point out the small drawback (which did not ruin our break): Which was that there was only one toilet with a shower unit (which is a bit dated) upstairs, luckily we were all family, But this may be a little off putting for a group who are not familiar with each other. Also given the number of us, a dishwasher would have also provided assistance. Over all the break was great and the situation of the accommodation was great. The shortcut to the beach & town made it all very accessible for my 85 year old Nana. Over all if there was an additional toilet the property would be 10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review , a dishwasher is being fitted, and second toilet discussed, but proving very difficult to accommodate . Thanks again and glad you had a nice break and look forward to hearing fro. Y oh in the future . Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyandD...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wouldn't write Home about it...”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were a bit disappointed in this one really. Despite the impression from the photographs of a secluded hideaway, the cottage is very much overlooked by some town houses/apartments to one side.

Only when we asked for the arrival details were we told of the requirement to bring our own towels, bed sheets, pillow cases and quilt covers. I wouldn't expect to have to pack bed linen for a cottage so I was surprised that this information wasn't offered until prompted only days before our arrival. This proved more inconvenient as some of our party were holidaying elsewhere in Wales prior to this booking at a cottage that did not ask for bed linen.

The contact person on arrival was not contactable as the provided number repeatedly went to voicemail. This was a frustration as the oven/grill does not work and was not remedied during our stay. Not good.

One toilet is not enough, especially when it is in the same room as the one shower. A room with a just a bath and sink in it is senseless. Why not an additional shower and toilet?

One of the double beds is a very small double, only visible in daylight hours as there was no functioning light in that room.

If this house was at full occupancy, it would be difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Abersoch
Liked least: Unable to contact owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for your response and your comments will be addressed . Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlyb
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful - a well kept secret”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After an eventful journey it was lovely to arrive and be greeted by the friendly owners. The house is lovely a mixture of olde world charm and homeliness. The rooms are large enough and spaced out in a way where you can mingle or enjoy privacy. 2 very small drawbacks which it must be said did not detract from the holiday were having only one toilet with a shower unit in it upstairs although there is another bathroom with bath and sink but minus toilet also upstairs There were 8 staying but with 3 other family members staying in separate accommodation and visiting so the age ranged from 2yrs to 83yrs. And secondly no dishwasher :( which we mentioned to the owners who suggested this was being looked into :) Everything else from the cleanliness the range of things provided including plastic beach crockery to the owners was superb. We had a leak from a pipe in the kitchen And this was dealt with immediately. The owners even provided an extra guitar when they knew we were a musical family. We really enjoyed this holiday home and we have tried a few in Aber over the last 30years and recommend it to anyone who loves being in Abersoch but slightly away from the town centre as it has the added advantage of being only a short walk away from the centre but close to all the beaches. Letting young teenagers have a bit of independence. The garden is equally lovely with different areas to sit and relax and the lovely terrace where early morning coffee and evening drinks can be consumed and the great joy of not having to find a parking space in Aber in the height of the season. An extra plus was no wifi so teenagers had to enjoy themselves by joining in and adults could totally get away from work and other distractions. There is free wifi in places in the village if desperate!!! Fabulous place, thanks, totally recommend except for the weeks when we want to go!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and space
Liked least: No dishwasher no second toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing