We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Scenic and serene!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garth Mawr

Front of house from large lawned garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house from large lawned garden
Stunning views from garden across estuary to Snowdon Wonderful Harlech Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Front of house from large lawned garden
Stunning views from garden across estuary to Snowdon
Wonderful Harlech Castle
Warm lounge with log huge fire place
Spectacular walking at Snowdon
White water rafting at the National Water Sport Centre at Bala
Horse riding in Snowdonia
Spectacular Nefyn golf course
Golf at top rated Royal St Davids
Go Ape in the tree tops at Coed-y-Brenin
Front of house from drive
View over back garden to hills
View from hil top, showing Garth Mawr is splendidly 'away from it all'
Dining room
Newly fitted kitchen with 8 hob range
Family bathroom
Downstairs double (which has ensuite and sun room, with fantsatic views to Snowdon)
Upstairs double (which has ensuite)
Bunk bed room - for the kids
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RJM986
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Scenic and serene!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We loved our stay at Garth Mawr, despite some rather grim weather. The cottage is in an absolutely beautiful location, perched on top of a hill with fab sea views. Better still, the master bedroom has a little sun room where you can look out over the coast. The cottage is fully equipped and very snug with a real log fire in case of rain. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a warm welcome note and bottle of delicious red wine. Delighted to discover that despite the cottage being accessed via a farm track, Tesco are able to deliver to your door; good for longer stays/fussy eaters as the local Spar in Harlech is fairly small. Lots of great walks and activities nearby. You may never want to leave; we didn't!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walk31
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was lovely! Great base for walking around the area and the view from the cottage was the best we had seen in Wales! The cottage had everything that we needed for our weeks stay with our 3 boys and our parents. So much to do around the Harlech area and what amazing beaches! Clean white sand and blue sea. We will be back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our Christmas stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family had a great Christmas staying at this wonderful cottage up in the Welsh hills. Sometimes in the mist, sometimes with great panoramic views of Snowdonia. The kitchen was well equipped, even for Christmas dinner. Spacious reception rooms. A lovely downstairs bedroom and ensuite suitable for my less mobile parents. Our young children loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy F
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and my family, which included our four young children, have just had a fantastic week staying at Garth Mawr.
The accommodation is great, and the location superb. The property has a lovely garden, and is surrounded by fields which have sheep grazing throughout the day! It is a relatively remote and very peaceful location, whilst still being less than a 10 minute drive to Harlech, which itself is a lovely village. Loads to do in and around Harlech, and close to many other attractions (Portmeirion, Caernarfon Castle, Ffestioniog Railway, etc).
I'd very happily recommend this property to others.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ground floor bedroom with its beautiful views
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing