We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage and Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn
BBQ
King Sized Beds
Stunning sunsets most evenings.
Full sied single beds
Main Bedroom
Spa Bath
Artists impression
Lounge
Penty Mochyn view from lounge
Llanaber Beach
Bedroom
Free range ducks and chickens
Patio area at the back with BBQ, sun loungers and picnic bench.
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanaber, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cubanate
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage and Location”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed for four nights and had never been to the area before. In fact it was the first holiday with our 5 month old daughter!

The cottage is wonderful. Surrounded by pigs, horses, chickens, sheep and ducks and a huge picture window to view the sea and magnificent sunsets. The beach is a ten minute walk away down a pathway and walks are on the doorstep. Our hosts were very friendly and we had the right mix of being private but knowing help was there.

We used it as a base for Port Meirion and Snowden - and even got as far as Anglesey - so it's pretty well situated too.

I'd highly recommend the cottage and will be returning...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netstar19
West midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place is a picturesque hillside location , with stunning views of the beach. Unfortunately we didn't find our stay that comfortable I agree with the previous reviewer , the bottom floor is very dark and seemed to smell of damp , the bed was unbelievably hard I couldn't even sleep on this and spent the holiday in single beds or on sofas which is not the best thing when you pay for a holiday to be 'making do'
The gentleman owner did come out on arrival to show us the place but hardy spoke really the rest of the time , the lady not at all and even tho we waited around on departure day no one came over to say goodbye which seemed rude even tho he had been wandering in and out of house :(
Didn't find it dog friendly had chickens in garden that I thought seemed bad if you had dogs that didn't like birds our dog was kept well away
It had wifi which was a plus because couldn't get any phone signal so could stay In touch with family via this but for a 5 star place you expect this anyway
Don't think it was worth the money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
I am sorry that you found the bed hard, as this is a new Memory Foam mattress which previous visitors have asked for. If you had let us know (we are around constantly) we could have swapped it back to the old conventional mattress - there is never any need to 'make do' as we have spares of almost everything!
Yes I agree that the bedrooms can be dark, especially if you keep the blind closed - this is because it is an old barn with downstairs bedrooms! The open aspect of upstairs more than makes up for this, in my opinion.
This is a new conversion and complies with all building regulations for damp and insulation.
I'm sorry that you were waiting for me to come and say goodbye, but the practicalities of this makes it very difficult as people leave from 6am to 12noon - it would be invasive for me to keep popping over to check if they are leaving yet. Most people see me doing the horses or just pop over to say goodbye when they are ready.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koalacute
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced,not 5 star.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Disappointed . Very little
kitchen work space, kitchen
tops were were sticky on arrival. Had to scrub them. Cupboard space, 1 cupboard.
tv too small. bedroom door wouldn't shut. Bedroom dark.toilet brush holder filthy.
defiantly shouldn't be 5
star. Would struggle with 3
star. Gentleman owner was the only one who spoke. The lady did not make any attempt.
Very disappointed.
Chickens were the best bit. Loved feeding them.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
The TV has now been upgraded to 47", the kitchen worktops are oiled oak, so yes they are not like cheap varnish or veneer worktops, Would of been happy to sort other issues out - all you had to do was let us know (can't put things right that we on't know about). It's difficult getting a balance between being sociable and giving people privacy, so I tend to take my cue from the visitor as to how much they want to talk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayeloxto...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This place is just beautiful,

it's location is perfect, there's plenty to do (beach, town, mountain walks, plenty of day trips, boat rides, bike hire and lots more)

we really loved our stay, the cottage is well equipped with free wifi, spa bath, all cooking facilities you even get your own chickens and they lay fresh eggs daily....

I really can t say enough good things about this place and the owners are very friendly and always there to help :)

thank you once again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chickens, spa bath,
Liked least: Tv signal was very weak in bedroom and couldn't get a picture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting watching the sun setting into the sea.
Liked least: I haven't found anything I didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing