We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seaview Cottage

Seaview cottage front facade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaview cottage front facade
Garden view from the bedroom Cottage terrace with romatic seaview with its own garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Seaview cottage front facade
Garden view from the bedroom
Cottage terrace with romatic seaview with its own garden
enjoy sunrise from the garden!
Your bedroom
Tennis court
High roll top bath and separate shower
lounge
single foldout bed and cot can be used in the bedroom
lounge with sofabed
play area
front driveway in May
Seaview from the tennis court
cottage in snow
garden view
lounge view to the sea
tennis court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerinda_T
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First, let me point out a confusing fact- the cottage is called Strawberry Mill. When I drove up lovely Pen y Bryn road, I spotted the cottage (looking lovely just as in the preview picture) but wa confused by the name. On the website it is listed as Seaview Cottage. Once I'd figured out that Strawberry Mill and Seaview Cottage are one and the same, things became easier.

We have a family of five and our children are at that awkward age where they are too young to stay alone in their own hotel rooms but too old, really, to be sharing a room with their parents. This cottage was perfect as we converted the downstairs each evening into the boys' sleeping quarters while the adults stayed upstairs. Although there is only one shared bath, it is large and accommodating, and has an amazing bathtub (which I utilized at least twice!). While it seems like the cottage would be too small for five people, it was actually open, roomy, and cozy.

We were greeted with a homemade cake and flowers, which were cut from the front garden that morning. It was absolutely sweet and lovely.

The location is amazing, as you're only a short drive from the promenade (or a walk, if you're willing to brave the hill, which we did!). It's only ten minutes to Conwy Castle in one direction,a and ten minutes to Bodelwydden castle in the other direction. There is a really good restaurant/pub within walking distance (Pen y Bryn pub) which I will review separately.

In short, the area is lovely, the hosts were gracious and the cottage was to a high standard of cleanliness and features. We have been in the UK for 5 years, we've had many half term holidays within the UK (caravans in Scotland, Prestatyn etc, a chalet in Cornwall, several luxury hotel trips in London, Edinburgh and Glasgow) and as we drove away, my partner said "I think that's my favorite holiday that didn't involve Crete".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view in the morning from the bedroom windows is absolutely stunning.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbypa
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

lovely views.accomodation very good everything provided.microwave,cooker,fridge/freezer etc.televison etc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine2...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely place very clean and quiet and a lovely lady who rents this. We will come back again. Fifteen minute walk to the front and very local to everything. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Welsh Oasis”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We got the cottage break as a gift from our children and we're unsure what to expect but once we arrived it was perfect the cottage is so pretty and cosy perfect for two adults ! Seunghee was charming and her welcome warm, plus major points were awarded with fresh flowers from the garden and a nice chocolate cake on our arrival. Our only negative us the deposit we felt that the lusting of objects in the cottage and price per item made us very nervous about doing anything at first and it took a chunk out of our holiday money to be fair, but we understood why Seunghee does ask for the deposit but in all the years if cottage holidays this is the first time we'd been asked to leave a cash deposit ! Despite this we had a wonderful stay, and Seunghee's tips on local walks to fabulous views were excellent and have given us both some special memories. We would love to come back soon hope the cottage and Seunghee will be as charming on our next visit X god bless X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danny_che...
Northwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal for a relaxing short break”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

After searching for somewhere to stay near the N. Wales coast that would gladly accept us bringing our 2 small dogs we were lucky enough to spot this Cottage on Tripadvisor. The location is up in the hills above Colwyn Bay on a very quiet and peaceful road. It is separate from the owners house. As others have said, Suenghee is very nice and her personal touches made it a very pleasant stay for us. The £70 deposit against damages is fair and any respectful guest would agree I think. Useful tips provided also helped and we would definitely recommend this cottage for anyone who wants a peaceful few days away and yet be near enough to explore the N. Wales coast.
Plus Points: Decent Wifi connection, accepts dogs, great location, stylish bathroom

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing