We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Izzy V
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage is perfect in every way, all your possible needs have been considered. The owners provide the warmest of welcomes with a cream tea much appreciated on our arrival. Nessa the Labrador was gutted to be leaving the beautiful dog friendly surroundings. We will definitely be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmony19...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for in a self catering cottage.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Basel Cottage was just perfect! It is obviously well cared for by the owners Sue and Jonah because it is immaculate both inside and out. The cottage was like a home from home with attention paid to every detail.

The cottage is set in a very peaceful location with beautiful views. The night sky is perfect for star gazing and the decking area is an ideal spot for a cup of tea and a welsh cake at the end of an exhausting day of walking.

We travelled with teenagers who enjoyed the challenging walks and numerous adventure activities that can be found in the local area.

The cottage is perfect for the furry visitor too! Our dog enjoyed exploring the land and woods surrounding the cottage and was made very welcome.

The owners, Sue and Jonah were perfect hosts. The cream tea on arrival was a lovely gesture and enjoyed by all. Both Sue and Jonah have a wealth of knowledge about places to visit in both the Brecon Beacons and Carmarthenshire.

The only down side for us was a one week stay at Basel Cottage was not long enough to take full advantage of what the area has to offer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwarda
Gilching, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One word would be enough: perfect.
We certainly made the best choice. The hosts, Sue and Jona are wonderful: We felt very welcome, They could give us a lot of suggestions what to do in the area and they really made us feel at home at Basel Cottage.
The cottage is very spacious and very well equipped - there was nothing we were missing. We really liked the way the rooms were furnished and decorated and everything was high-standard and selected with great care.
Our favourite place was the window sill in the living room: best place on a stormy or rainy day to watch the birds outside or just to sit and read.
There are a lot of activities in the area (Sue has prepared folders with lots of information!): national botanical garden, castles, walking etc. Basel Cottage is a very quiet place, with lots of green space around, but in car it takes only a couple of minutes to the next little town (Llandovery) with shops and some pubs.
Would definitely recommend Basel Cottage!!! and hopefully we will be back

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nic2393
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a week at Basel cottage.
What can I say? Was a perfect holiday for us, thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Sue & Jonah were great hosts, my teenage boys loved the archery & shooting which Jonah put on for them, Reggie our dog had a great stay & was thoroughly spoilt. The cottage was spotless, everything had been thought of, lovely views & a great area for a family holiday.
Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparkle20...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A wonderful cottage in a picturesque setting! Beautifully clean, brilliantly resourced with very kind and friendly owners. This really was a very homely stay, even the dog came home refreshed and relaxed. We were greeted with a tasty cream tea and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. You will have difficulty finding a better holiday cottage than this one!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$689
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing