We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
161
142
33
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
142
33
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel fish and chips breakfast service residents lounge an evening meal sea view boat trip twin room full scottish four nights one night stay beautiful location receptionist mallaig crofters lucia dog
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Yes, I have stayed in the 'Bunkhouse' at the back of the hotel several times...its not bad for the price..either £25, (shared) or £50 for the whole room...they could do with a chair in the room, also the 'fire doors' could do with a touch of oil especially on the hinges...because they make a 'hell of a noise' as you leave... the premises, squeaky!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Jim Nicholson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

It was lovely to be back in the western highlands again. Visit all our old haunts including this hotel restaurant. They have made some nice improvements since our last visit, the main one being the construction of a large deck outside the side doors, bedecked with beautiful flower baskets and sun shaded tables. The weather was fine every day and we had several lunches and beers there with friends. Their chicken gumbo meal looked particularly appertising as did the burgers, chips and salad. We ate at night enjoying well cooked haddock,chips and tartar sauce one night and sea bream, stir fry and vegetables and new potatoes another night. On both occasions we had a magnificent delicious Crannoch for dessert, whisky soaked oats, cream, raspberries and nuts on top, but one between two the second time!
The hotel is over a hundred years old and has been decorated since we were last there. Its clean and bright but the lounge has lost all it’s Scottish character that made it so typical and distinctive. It’s crying out for someone with a bit of designer flair to bring it to life. I think that’s what visitors up here expect, especially foreigners. However, Friday nights are lively and busy with live local music to give atmosphere.There is also a large TV screen in the bar for sporting events like the World Cup when we were there.

Room tip: Overlooks the bay
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tedtrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Having just left a hotel that we'd booked a table at half an hour's drive away from Arisaig because of very poor customer service, we weren't hopeful of finding another place for an evening meal 6pm on a Saturday evening at the height of the tourist season. We drove back to Arisaig and tried the Arisaig Hotel. It was very busy but I caught the attention of one of the waitresses who made us feel very welcome despite being rushed off her feet. I asked if there was a possibility of a table for three and she explained that we were welcome to use the residents dining room which was empty. We were happy with this. She showed us to a table in an elegant dining room, put some music on and we were soon tucking into delicious locally caught fish ( and chips). The customer service was second to none and the food was lovely. Such a contrast to the first venue we tried. Thank you for a lovely wedding anniversary meal for ourselves and our daughter. ☺

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We paid 211 € for a family room, which gets you a very decent room in all major cities such as London. However, this hotel is outdated and in need of a reservation. The reception area and all other parts of the communal areas, but also the room itself were not clean (carpets have a tendency to become dirty after a couple of years) and looked shabby for lack of a better word. The double bed was very small (140 cm) with one side of the bed helling towards the floor which made sleeping difficult. We were disappointed as we paid a lot of money for one night. However, breakfast was good and the waiter who served breakfast was really friendly!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcm23416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Nice hotel, room big and comfortable. Food in the bar next door was nice as well and breakfast good. Don't think I would stay for longer but great for an overnight, especially if you have just completed the Nc500 or have returned from Skye (Mallaig is less than 10 minutes away)

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CURLYSUE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews