We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“so calm, relaxing, stunning scenery, lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Wigtown, Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vjp1965
berwick on tweed
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so calm, relaxing, stunning scenery, lovely hosts, my idea of heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

have been here 4 times now, never ever thought I would stay at the same place, and could never understand why people did, that is until we came to east kirklands for a weeks holiday, we have been here 4 times now and absolutely love it, couldn't ask for anything more than what we have when we are here, my idea of heaven, stunning scenery, beaches, hills walks, wee hamlets, use of swimming pool on site and games room, also kennels if needed, but we love bringing our dog with us, he needs a holiday too, so much to see and do, very peaceful, ian and hazel cant do enough for you, always there if needed, lovely to feed the lambs, and especially the ones we saw last year, couldn't ask for a better holiday and already planning on coming back next year, hopefully bringing my mum and dad over too, because I want to show them the area and to let them see why we have fallen in love with eastkirklands farmxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendliness of the owners, hazel and ian, and the peace and tranquility,
Liked least: there is nothing we didnt like apart from coming back home,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great way to unwind”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lots to do from feeding the lambs at the farm to picnics on the quiet beaches. The red kite feeding station is well worth a visit. Accomodation was lovely and the kids loved the swimming pool and games room. The Ploughmans in Wigtown do great food (lamb kebabs to die for!) and only a 20 minute stroll

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip E
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - beautiful scenery, a lovely hideaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very clean and has all modern facilities with awesome views of the Galloway Hills and Solway Estuary. We didnt need to use the log burner but have used in the winter creating superb cosy evenings if required. The games room is great for the children and the indoor swimming pool was used every day. The sandy beaches nearby are clean and with very few people so can play all manor of beach games. Rock pools and sea are full of wildlife. Great places to eat & so many local attractions we have booked again for Easter ! Ian & Hazel are so friendly and always available for help / recommendations, thankyou for a great break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package, setting, tranquility, home comforts, vfm
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Silver Anniversary Sparkled - Garden Cottage”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Garden Cottage, which is for 2/3 persons. We were there for our silver anniversary and nothing disappointed. The 4 poster bed was very comfy & the cottage had all modern appliances. There is plenty of things to keep children entertained on the site, including a large games barn. There is also a lovely indoor swimming pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet location
Liked least: the wifi was a bit hit & miss
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing