We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hang up your car keys and relax.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle
Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle,External Seating and BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle
Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle,External Seating and BBQ Area
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Garden
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, from Balker Brae
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Sitting Room
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Sitting Room
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Double Bedroom
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Twin Bedroom
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Kitchen
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Kitchen
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Passage
Ice House Cottage, Lochinch Castle, Bathroom
Lochinch Castle
Lochinch Castle
Castle Kennedy
Rhododendrons at Castle Kennedy Gardens
Loch side walks at Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
Snowdrops at Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
Bluebell woods at Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clive j
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hang up your car keys and relax.”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

If you want some solitude and tranquillity for a week just reading you're book or walking the dogs this is the place to be.
A wonderful location and delightful setting Ice House Cottage fully delivers inside and out with the freedom to roam and explore the estate's avenues, tracks and many secluded pathways.
The home baked ' chocolate fudge cake ' and bottle of red wine on arrival was a nice touch sitting outside drinking and eating in the beautiful country garden was the perfect / idyllic/ peaceful spot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgrim546
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice location but poor customer service and accomodation was lacking in some areas”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is in a nice location and there are some lovely places to visit locally, especially beaches.

We are a young family and hoped for a relaxing holiday in 4 star accommodation but felt let down in some areas. Some of the windows do not lock, the swing was ripped, pans were not in the best state and the broadband connection was poor. The roads are in a terrible state with potholes along the length of the access roads. Our car had a full service weeks before we arrived but was back in the garage when we returned.

But the worst part of our experience was the attitude of the staff. We felt that we were in the way and that our presence in the cottage was an inconvenience. We expected much more given the cost of the holiday. Gardeners are inconveniently at the cottage on Fridays.

Before we booked our trip we read a review of the Chauffeur's Apartment, Lochinch Castle which is under the same management. The reviewer mentioned that, "there are far better quality properties not too far away and with no deposits to pay and a better quality and experience." I echo these sentiments and advise booking elsewhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Dear Mr Grimshaw, we are very sorry that you are unhappy about your stay with us. We take our holiday cottage business very seriously and will look into the issues you have raised. We would like to note that in your welcome pack you received a form with contact details of how to be in touch should you have any issues and a form to complete at the end of your stay to let us know of any problems that arose during your stay. You did not complete this form, nor did you contact us during your stay, apart from when you locked yourself in the Gardens which we helped you with. The comment you left in our visitors book said, “Excellent setting for a very enjoyable stay”. Sometimes when we receive reviews of this nature an incident has taken place, which unfortunately is the case with your stay. We are very grateful that you agreed to kindly cover the cost of the damaged items we found in the property after your departure but are sorry that you felt the need to leave such a public negative review afterwards. Our team work very hard to deliver a four star holiday cottage and whilst we do not always get everything right we do try our best. Most of our visitors have an enjoyable time with us, with over 35% choosing to rebook with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie S
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Ice House Cottage is a beautifully presented cottage in a peaceful location of solitude and country air..... with all the Lochinch Castle grounds and Castle Kennedy gardens available to you, what more could you want? So many places of interest to visit in the area, castles, lochs, harbours, abbeys and so on the list is endless. I adore this beautiful and largely undiscovered part of the world and recommend all the Lochinch Castle holiday properties, finished to the highest standard ( have been in them all!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to wander the Castles grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Dear Julie, thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Ice House Cottage. We are thrilled that you like our part of the world so much. Galloway is a wonderful hidden secret. It's great that you have stayed in all of our properties and have enjoyed them all! We hope you will visit us again. All best wishes from everyone at Lochinch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning retreat for a luxurious relaxing break!”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a gorgeous property in a stunning location. My husband and I stayed for a week with our 1 year old cocker spaniel, Freddie and had the most relaxing break. The cottage is of an excellent standard, inside and out and beautifully decorated. We had all sorts of weather so were lovely and cosy with the log burner on when cold and blowing a gale outside, and enjoyed a bbq when the sun was out! We both slept like a log as the bed was so comfy!

We also enjoyed exploring the many walks around the stunning estate and gardens (Freddie particularly enjoyed this part!) and didn't really need to go far there is so much to explore!
An added bonus is the ability to join events at Castle Kennedy, for instance the Head Gardener's tour, and also stop off for a coffee and delicious cake (or bacon roll for breakfast!) in the tea shop!

We thoroughly enjoyed our week and can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose just one thing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Dear Karen, thank you for your lovely review of Ice House Cottage. As one of our first visitors we were thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you were able to join one of the Head Gardeners tours. We look forward to welcoming you and Freddie back again. All best wishes from the team at Lochinch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing