We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay at a reasonable price”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Stables Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom
The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Old Stables Shower Room
The porch / sunroom looks out across the courtyard
The cottage looks across to our paddocks and surrounding countryside
A summer visitor to Wig Bay
Torrs Warren Forest, Stranraer
Ailsa Craig and the Isle of Arran are visible from Stranraer
The lighthouse at the Mull of Galloway
Sandhead Beach
Summer Sunset over Ardwell Bay
The old lighthouse at Port Logan Bay
The snow-capped mountains on the Isle of Arran, visible from the coast road
Black Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Grey Mare's Tail, Galloway Forest Park
Clatteringshaws Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Castle and Roundhouse at Dunure, Ayrshire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
arai2
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at a reasonable price ”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

2 minutes drive over the hill takes you in to Stranraer but it’s feels like you’re a world away from anything.

The cottage had everything we needed and was light, spacious and clean.

20 minutes to the ferry terminal for Belfast

Plenty of decent restaurants and pubs to chose from

Morrison’s, Lidl and Tesco all close by

If we are in the area we will definitely stay again. Lovely hosts who are very knowledgable and gave us some good tips to fill our 4 days. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waynos
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed for another 2 nights at this lovely cottage, the cottage is set in nice grounds, and although close to Stranraer town it feels secluded. So peaceful and quiet. The owner is so nice too.. also all the info provided at the cottage is excellent.
The cottage is cozy, clean, spacious and has everything needed.
Looking forward to our next stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7LouK7
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for exploring the area”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The stables is a lovely cottage in a perfect location for exploring the region. The cottage had everything we needed, although if you did need reliable Wifi, it was a bit intermittent. Recommend visiting Portpatrick, we fell in love with the place and had great meals. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Hello Louise & thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Unfortunately our location prevents us from obtaining a good internet signal despite boosters being installed in the cottages. However, I do hope it will not deter you from returning to enjoy the cottage & Portpatrick again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff B
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really nice accommodation for two - spacious and comfortable.”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A perfect cottage for two people to explore Western Galloway and up the coast. If and when we return to this area then we'd want to stay again at Old Stables Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I hope we will be able to welcome you again when you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I'm really pleased you were happy with the cottage & look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing