We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house, fantastic location, fantastic...”
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Fantastic location and views.
Entertain and relax.
Open plan with open views from every window.
A warm welcome you awaits in the entrance hall.
The first thing you see...is the sea!
Watch the world sail by as you dine.
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3.
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Car parking at front of house.
View of Portpatrick harbour and village from the front of the house.
2000 acres of sea and sky!
Breathtaking sights on your door step.
Bonfire and Fireworks behind the house at Life Boat Week. Book early!
Plenty of room to cook and chat with a glass of wine!
Sunset from your rear balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn P
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, fantastic location, fantastic village”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were recently lucky enough to have a week's holiday at the Bait House. The description was good, yet the cottage surpassed expectations. We arrived in the village early on a very sunny Saturday afternoon so set about checking out the local hostelries, of which there are several.
It was a delight to enter the cottage for the first time, to explore our new home for the next week. The views from both front & back of the 'upside down' cottage are superb. The cottage wants for nothing - especially wine glasses!
We were extremely lucky with the weather so didn't have much use of the log burner. However, we intend to return out of season so we can get cosy - any excuse!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thanks for the review! We do our best to make your stay as happy as possible and its nice to know we are getting it right! Hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatherma...
1 review
“What More Could You Ask For”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just back from second visit to The Bait House - will definitely be back! Location of house is stunning and adds to whole experience of the visit - calm and relaxing from front, stormy and vibrant at back. Well worth a visit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
You are welcome back anytime! Thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bravehear...
Markinch, Fife
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb location within a beautiful Town”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Bait House is in a fantastic location with the harbour on one side and the Irish sea on the other. The living accommodation is upstairs with fantastic views on either side. There is always something going on in the harbour – local fishermen, visiting yachts or lifeboat exercises. The living room has an extremely efficient wood burning stove which heats up the upstairs very quickly. The upstairs area has a rustic charm in keeping with the bait house and its surroundings. The bedrooms downstairs are comfortable and spacious although the en suite is a little cramped. There is a large family bathroom. The kitchen would benefit from the addition of a dishwasher. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed the bait house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thanks for your comments! Dishwasher is planned when we refurb the downstairs loo and move washing washing machine later this year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divagrand...
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Come Back . . . Again”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last year on the same weekend and couldn't wait to return. On first entering the house I spotted the wood-burning stove and the larger seating area, which was a pleasant surprise - and very welcome on the Saturday when the rain just wouldn't stop.
Having been out early that morning to walk to Killintringan lighthouse it was good just to sit round the fire with nibbles and drinks and catch up.

The Bait House is ideally positioned as there are no neighbours so when we returned at night after dinner and a few drinks we were still able to sit having tea and toast and chat (handy when there are 5 women) and we had everything we could possibly need in the kitchen.

Hopefully we'll be back again next year - definitely if I can choose :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to sit around the wood burning stove and eat, drink and chat.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Glad you enjoyed the improvements and you're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further than "The Bait House" for your holiday home in the Port”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Bait House with friends last weekend in March. Location is excellent, 2 minutes from pubs and restaurants. View from the front of the house is over the harbour and from the back, sea views, and on a clear night Belfast harbour and the Mountains of Mourne in the distance. Sunsets are amazing ! The accommodation is excellent and furnished to a very high standard. I twin bedroom upstairs, master with on suite and another twin on the ground floor. Open plan lounge upstairs with open fireplace and wood burning stove. Highly recommend the Bait house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Thanks for the kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;