We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fabulous house - beautifully restored and...”
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Fantastic location and views.
Entertain and relax.
Open plan with open views from every window.
A warm welcome you awaits in the entrance hall.
The first thing you see...is the sea!
Watch the world sail by as you dine.
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3.
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Car parking at front of house.
View of Portpatrick harbour and village from the front of the house.
2000 acres of sea and sky!
Breathtaking sights on your door step.
Bonfire and Fireworks behind the house at Life Boat Week. Book early!
Plenty of room to cook and chat with a glass of wine!
Sunset from your rear balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous house - beautifully restored and thoroughly equipped...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent four days at the house with my husband and fifteen year old son. Had a great time - I used to holiday in Portpatrick as a child, so know the area well. Would wholly recommend The Bait House as a great base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs living area...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Glad you enjoyed the house and yourselves of course! Perfect guests and welcome back anytime. Please like us on Facebook to keep up to date with the latest upgrade coming shortly!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCaig27
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay in this beautiful house.the owner Robert was extremely helpful whenever we had cause to contact him. I would love to think that I would return to this wonderful part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds and beautiful position
Liked least: I loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
You're very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scudyer56
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From start to finish we had a fab time in the Bait House. The beds a super comfy and the views around the house are amazing. The owner Robert was very helpful throughout and we would recommend this house strongly. All the mod cons you need are provided for you and the shops nearby stock most of the essentials you may need. We will be back soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
You're welcome back anytime! Bottle of wine on me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy cosy harbour-side cottage with the Irish sea as your neighbour.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Well equipped modern cottage with character and upper floor outlook over harbour. Ample selection of local hotel bars serving good food within easy walking distance. Southern Upland way starts almost outside the door - the first few miles to the lighthouse is a must do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy property.
Liked least: Chip van outside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleOll...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect base to enjoy this bustling harbour and pretty coastal fishing village”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

There were two of us in our party plus a well behaved Collie that we were given permission to take. We booked the Bait House for a spontaneous last minute break based on TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that I know the village and area well.

The Bait House was just what we like, simple, contemporary, yet stylish with lovely country decorative touches. It has great views of the harbour, out to sea and across to the village, plus it is very well equipped with quality housewares, was spotlessly clean and the bed was super comfy. The perfect combination - I hope we can come again sometime.

The first floor living space is light, airy and comfortable with everything you could need and provided excellent views and privacy which is a good use of space as you are in the heart of what is a working harbour, which for us is an attraction and gives the village it's charm and character. Note: You have to remember to keep your curtains drawn whilst changing and using the downstairs bedrooms. The bedrooms are simply but effectively furnished with a mix of new and antique pieces and pretty bedlinen and cushions. The tiled floor in the hallway is decorative and practical and complemented by oak boards in the rest of the house so slippers are a good idea. Heating is electric night storage and the place was plenty warm enough for us on a chilly Oct night.

The harbour, being the heart of the village can be lively in Summer with a lot of visitors strolling along to see the fishing boats and yachts so there is always something going on. There are pubs and restaurants within a very short stroll and all on the flat so The Bait House would suit all ages.

There are three good sized bedrooms (1 double and 2 twin) but from personal preference I would only book for 4 adults or 4 adults and 2 children as, although the bedrooms were spacious, I felt that for us the living space might be a bit crowded for 6 adults - having said that holidays are for getting together arn't they?

Our contact/host Robert was genial, helpful and friendly, what more could you ask for?

A great place to stay, I would certainly recommend it and hope to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Hi Carole,

Thanks for the glowing review and tips!! Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing