We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Riviera”

Review of ISLAY

Welcome to Portpatrick Holiday Homes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Portpatrick Holiday Homes
Optional Housekeeping Services Comfortable Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Welcome to Portpatrick Holiday Homes
Optional Housekeeping Services
Comfortable Living
Luxury Accommodation
Fine Dining
Self Catering
Optional Dinner Menu
Located in the Heart of the Village
Short Term Stays Available
Portpatrick Harbour
Picturesque Scenery
Portpatrick Coast
Portpatrick in Snow
Portpatrick Harbour
A view of the 'Village'
Welcome to Portpatrick Holiday Homes
Luxury Accommodation
Located in the Heart of the Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ucilla w
east ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Riviera”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a long weekend staying at the Downshire Holiday Homes (The Islay) which is only yards from the sea front. The accommodation is exactly what it shows in the pictures. Comfortable leather sofas, Multi channel television and a cosy fire with back up heaters if needed. Good quality dining table and chairs which seats eight. The kitchen is well equipted with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, washing maching, fridge freezer and plenty of dishes, glasses and cutlery. Our party was seven women so took full use of the ensuite with shower, a further bathroom with bath and shower above and just off the living room was a cloakroom with toilet and wash hand basin. The bedrooms, whilst not large, are bright and clean with fitted mirror wardropes, bedside table, lamps etc. There were plenty of towels etc provided and if you need more the hotel is happy to provide them. The hotel itself (which is just next door) provide good pub grub with live music on Fridays and Saturdays. None of us felt the music a problem as once in the holiday home it couldnt be heard. Some noise from revellers going home but as there are various hotels/pubs who provide entertainment within close proximity this has to be expected and only lasted 10 min or so. We all found the staff at the Downshire to be friendly and helpful and would not hesitate in returning. Portpatrick itself is a little jewel in the crown and cant believe I have reached this age and never been before and have to add we will definately be back. Thanks to all the staff we had a fabulous, laughter filled weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The holiday home itself, it was perfect
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scooterma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accommodation and perfect location”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect for us and couldn't fault it. Would not suit if not very good on your legs due to stairs being steep. Very modern and very clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triciaand...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The Islay was a lovely house. Everything seemed new and it was spotlessly clean. We catered for ourselves and found everything we needed in the kitchen. There was plenty of space to relax. Just a stones throw from the sea front, it was the perfect location to enjoy this lovely wee village. I would highly recommend this property. The people were very helpful and were happy to give us a later check out. We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just as advertised.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColeAndPa...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it, can't wait to stay again!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My other half and I came back from Portpatrick last week from staying at the holiday homes and we are so gutted to be home! We stayed in Skye which has two double bedrooms. We had looked at the tour videos on the website and just hoped it would be as nice as it looked and we were pleasantly surprised, it was better! When we arrived we were given a guided tour, the lady was lovely! She showed us around the kitchen and appliances and all the bedrooms, we were shocked to learn there was a master bathroom, en suite AND a downstairs WC. Very well equipped flat it more than met our expectations. The kitchen was large and clean, although the extractor fan was a bit noisy so we opened windows instead. The flat is really near to the sea front (you can see it if you step outside the front door) and out the back has a small round table with seats and a picnic bench for each holiday home.
The master bedroom was a really nice size and the en suite was massive, the second bedroom was a bit smaller but still gorgeous. Fitted mirror wardrobes in each bedroom made for loads of storage and the flats were very cosy. The rooms weren't very dark though, the blinds didn't keep out all of the light.
The homes are absolutely gorgeous and we cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved it all, it was a proper home away from home. Loved the en suite, the shower was great.
Liked least: Extractor fan a bit noisy and bedrooms not very dark. Not a big deal, though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendama
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“be advised . . . .”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

I first enquired for Islay and was emailed to advise that Islay was fully booked however Jura was available to accommodate 4 adults and 1 child age 4 who would be provided with a z bed at a additional charge of £10.
We arrived for our stay to find the z bed set up in the living area and told by our 'meet and greet' host that it could be easily set up upstairs either in the bedrooms or the landing. (meet and greet host did nothing else)The z bed did not fit in either of the bedrooms (without blocking the wardrobes and doors and if we where to place in landing we would not have been able to access the bathroom, my child therefore slept on the z bed mattress placed squashed onto the floor.
Jura is the first home next to the Downshire Hotel, which on a saturday night played very loud music until 2am.
There is no private parking space as advertised, there is parking at the back of the property but its the discretion of other guests if you get a space and if not expect to sort it out yourself.

We had some other issues which meant a daily or twice daily visits to the hotel to request/get information-such as not providing enough towels, access to wifi poor, free satellite was virtually useless.
On leaving we did advise of the above concerns, the lady we dealt with was very apologetic the same cannot be said for another member of staff who stood listening to my complaint at the top of the stairs and argued with me as to which time the music stopped on the Saturday night.
On a positive note the house was very clean.

Overall Portpatrick is not a quiet place at the weekend (sat -tues) nor would I say family friendly, we found a couple of public houses with a very rowdy clientele sitting outside and inside was much worse, the beach is tiny, sadly Portpatrick is an ideal place to use a base to visit what is nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;