We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Post House

The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Yard Yard & Seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Post House, Main Street, Portpatrick
Yard
Yard & Seating area
Kitchen
Kitchen area
Hall & Stairs
Double bedroom
Double Bedroom
En-suite for Double Bedroom with walk-in shower
Walk in shower
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom 1
Twin Bedroom 2
Dining Room leading to kitchen
Dining Room leading to Lounge
Lounge
Lounge again..
Portpatrick Harbour
Boats in the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SuzieAC
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A very well equipped and clean cottage. Excellent location, handy for everything. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlexande...
1 review
“Fantastic stay in a lovely village!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is lovely with plenty of space in the heart of the village, very enjoyable stay! The photos really don't do this place justice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll consider returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W33Sue
North Lanarkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have been visiting Port Patrick for many years and stayed in various holiday lets. This was our second time staying at the Post House and can say we were not disappointed. It's perfect for a comfortable relaxing stay at the seafront - would highly recommend it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay in both Portpatrick and The Post House. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supie28
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic home from home!!!! Just what we needed ......”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our visit was for a solemn reason and yet we had one of the best family holidays ever!!

We had our 4 and 8 yr olds with us alongside two friends. We all loved our rooms, loved the feel of the property and three loos was totally welcome!!!

Sitting in the back garden being overlooked by a 1600's Kirk ruin was such an unexpected treat too.

My son wasn't convinced that he wanted to return to Portpatrick itself, however he was absolutely certain he wanted to go back to the Posthouse!!!!

The staff in the Postoffice were lovely, friendly, helpful and a joy to deal with. The kitchen was well equipped and the lounge cosy and tranquil. The photo's do not do justice to how lovely this place is to live in.

It was a wonderfully restful sanctuary during an emotional weekend and we wouldn't hesitate to return as often as possible....not even a 6 hour drive home has put me off thinking about how soon we can return.

Thankyou for opening such a lovely place up for us to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't possibly choose one thing....
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to you returning to Portpatrick in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious and well equipped, quite noisy with only one way in and out.”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The cottage itself is attached to the post office/shop with only one way in and out through the yard. It is quite a spacious area with good sized bedrooms and bathroom facilities. Across from the local hotel/pub it can be noisy at night and you can hear all that goes on in the shop!! The cottage has everything you need for your stay and it was clean enough. Portpatrick the town is pretty bare so stock up at the Lidle I Stranraer before you arrive, there are two little craft shops along the sea front which are quite marvellous and some of the best sea views around. If its stormy watch out Along the sea front as the wavesco e right over and soak you through, the high light of the our stay for the children!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
I am glad to hear that you found the cottage well appointed, clean and spacious. Unfortunately the period of your stay coincided with the arrival of the New Year, which generally speaking is rather well celebrated here in Scotland, and can therefore be a bit noisy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing