We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Property In A Fabulous Location”

Review of North Pier

Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Only a two minute walk from the lively harbour Impeccably furnished for your comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Welcome to North Pier, your luxury holiday home
Only a two minute walk from the lively harbour
Impeccably furnished for your comfort
Fully equipped kitchen looking onto the harbour
Family room with 1 king size bed and 1 single bed
Bright and airy double bedroom looking onto the garden
Lounge with comfortable seating and a 37' LCD TV and DVD
Open plan dining room with everything you need for an evening meal at home
Master bedroom with en suite shower room
Twin bedroom looking onto the garden
Bright and spacious open plan lounge
En suite shower room to the master bedroom
Family bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower
Private back garden perfect for al fresco dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nannaisas...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property In A Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 7 day stay in North Pier, we were a party of 4 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 14. We chose this property for the location and we were not disappointed, it was just perfect. The views from the house were stunning and it was great being able to sit out on the veranda on a cool summer night. There was ample space on the drive for our 2 cars.
The house was clean, well laid out with a good standard of furnishings and a fully equipped kitchen. Good quality glasses for our drinks!!! The beds were really comfortable. There were plenty of good quality white towels so no problem having to worry about getting towels dried after showering. A vase of fresh flowers was a very welcome touch.
There were a good collection of pubs and hotels near the harbour and we sampled most of them, our favourite was the Crown hotel. A lovely tea room, pottery shops, village shop and post office all to be found in the short walk to the harbour.
Would not hesitate in recommending North Pier and seriously considering visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small shower cubicle in the ensuite bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S
Bearsden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and facilities.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Back to North Pier for the second time - as wonderful as before. We were an extended family of 7 plus a dog.Great location and house so well equipped!. We were also very lucky with our weather.
2 good shops in the village and plenty of pubs round the picturesque harbour.

One advantage for us was that we could have a complete break from driving with a variety of coastal walks nearby. If you want to go further afield though, there are many interesting places to visit.

Hope to be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleeveL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks exactly like the pics!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

North Pier is a lovely house and is situated in the heart of Portpatrick. It looks exactly like the pics, very clean and modern and good layout too. The only complaint would be that the kitchen knives could be doing with being replaced or sharpened but apart from that I would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location warm and homely cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for my wife's 50th along with 7 others. The Cottage is located just a short walk from all the hotels and pubs in a quiet area next to the putting green. The cottage has a lovely balcony round the side and front and we were lucky with the weather and able to sit out. It would be a real gem on a summers day. Lovely and cosy with everything you need to enjoy your stay very clean with fresh towels and comfy beds. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it too friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy b
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great accommodation, great central position with views of the sea,good standard of furnishings , masses of good quality towels and a well equipped kitchen. We went in February, still a little chilly, but not at North Pier , it's a lovely warm house.
We will definitely revisit !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: no wi-fi for the children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing