We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place with incredible views from...”

Review of The Tower

Dollarbeg Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dollarbeg Castle
Dollarbeg Castle at night Dollarbeg Castle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dollarbeg Castle
Dollarbeg Castle at night
Dollarbeg Castle Entrance
Open plan living & kitchen area
Kitchen & Dining Area
First Floor Hallway
Master bedroom with En-suite Shower Room
Red Bedroom (may be Superking or twin beds)
Red Bedroom (as a Superking bed)
White Bedroom - located half-way up spiral staircase
White Bedroom - another view
Private roof terrace view towards Ochil Hills
Private roof terrace evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dollar, Clackmannanshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeremy P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing place with incredible views from the roof terrace .”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great stop over for a Dollar Academy reunion - situated a bit out of Dollar but just stunning especially as the weather was fantastic. The apartment is effectively the right hand tower spread over four floors - beautiful décor, well equipped, champagne and goodie basket on our arrival including home made shortbread and rocky roads, bacon and eggs, butter, bread and milk....Very comfortable bed with high quality towels and linen. Everything seemed to be high spec although for some reason the towel rails were not heated but that may have been our fault. Three bedrooms but as we were only two, we had far too much space! Flexible on departure time too. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Thank you! You will be most welcome as a return guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorati...
1 review
“Truly Magical, made our holiday amazing!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Dollar is a small quaint town, very centrally located. The people are so friendly and the castle is like a dream come true! Absolutely made our holiday! Everything we needed was provided, we will definitely return some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the castle!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi P
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Castle Stay-must do in your lifetime”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wow!!! Our stay was perfect. My sister and I took my Dad to Scotland a bucket list trip as he has terminal cancer and we wanted this to be memorable. The castle was gorgeous, peaceful and well done. The location is great, central to everything and very easy from Edinburgh airport. From the fabulous welcome basket complete with champagne to the picnic basket for our day out at the Highland Games, there is everything you need. The castle was clean, beautiful and the rental process was flawless. We are already planning our next trip with our whole family.
Thank you Susan for your professionalism and hospitality, it truly was a fantastic trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, location, the sound system
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braddon75
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a fantastic flat overlooking a beautiful area of Scotland”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Tower at Dollarbeg Castle for just two nights at the tail end of a UK trip. We fell in LOVE with Scotland and the Tower. We came to Scotland to get married and held our small intimate (just us, two witnesses and the registrar) at the Tower. Originally we were going to use the Private Terrace at the top of the Tower with the 360 degree views but weather decided that we would hold our ceremony inside which turned out perfectly. Up to date, modern, and all the conveniences you'd want inside a 200 year old castle, we couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy our short stay in Scotland. The small village of Dollar down the street was just as great. You won't regret staying here in The Tower at Dollarbeg Castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, decoration, bedding, sound system, interior design
Liked least: nothing, love it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star comfort”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This a superlative apartment in a beautiful location. Furnishings are of a very high spec, like a 5 star hotel, and you will feel instantly on holiday with every home comfort catered for. The cinema room was a great hit with our teenage children and perfect for rainy days. The balcony at the top of the tower is a lovely spot to catch the sun and view the rolling Ochil Hills and Castle Campbell. Very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec furnishings
Liked least: Would have preferred more grounds for walking rather than driving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing