We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Inverlounin”

Review of Inverlounin House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front Door On the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from front Door
On the Beach
Inverlounin House
Living Room
SW Bedroom
NW Bedroom
SW Bedroom
SE Bedroom
Cooker
Conservatory
Dining
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Dining Room
Utility
Lounge
Inverlounin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wendyengl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic Inverlounin”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned this very day from Inverlounin which we booked fora short stay for our parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. Sadly..
..it was too short! We loved it and wish we had booked for the whole week. We fell in love with the setting immediately upon setting foot inside the gate and two red squirrel kits gambolled a welcome across the garden.
The house was spotless -just freshly cleaned and the welcome basket is a nice touch.The house is beautifully refurbished without having lost any of its original character and has all mod cons. There are two tvs, but we recommend sitting around the lounge
window (this in high summer once the midges chased us inside),and watching the
light change until the wee small hours. It feels like day lasts longer up there on the loch. We saw otter cutting through the water(albeit at 6am)plus mergansers and seals.The garden and waterfalls were fabulous -a plus side of all the recent rain.We spent time on the beach and had a bbq too.We drove over and hired a cruiser for the afternoon and saw some porpoises. Thanks John for making our folk's special anniversary so special. We did wonder about squatter's rights.....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Hello Wendy and thank you very much for your review.
glad you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again
kind regards,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieWuli...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best every holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our extended family holiday together every year and Inverlounin House was without doubt the best family holiday we have ever had. The house was superb with lots of lovely touches from the welcome basket to the games and books available. The house is at the end of a long single track road, and immediately you are transported to a fairy tale setting. There are three waterfalls on the property and access to the beach were we swam in the Loch. The views are spectacular and the weather glorious. We could have stayed forwever, it was that good. I hope we come back here soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrgoffy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A house with it all...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Being honest, Inverlounin isn't cheap to rent, but I guess you get what you pay for. And with this house you get a lot.

First of all the location is amazing. As long as you aren't planning on popping out for an evening a the opera or going on a mad night at an inner-city super-club, then it's fantastic. The house sits at the end of the track from Lochgoilhead and looks out across the loch. It's an amazingly atmospheric place and the views of the loch and hills beyond are constantly changing with the weather and light.

The house itself is pretty spacious. We stayed at the house following our wedding at The Lodge across the loch, so there were both adults and children staying too. It's a good size and meant that the children could run around without getting in the way of anyone else. There are plenty of rooms to hide away and get some peace and the grounds are fantastic for kids to explore.

The house is very well stocked with just about everything anyone could ever require and the appliances and provisions all excellent. Everything was clean and tidy when we arrived and there was lots of info on the house itself and the surrounding area.

The only downsides I can think of are the midges (but that's a geographical hazard) and the wifi was very slow, but I found that personally a positive thing in many ways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation.
Liked least: Slow wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mack0619
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and value for money”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Myself and eight friends stayed at this cottage on the first weekend of November. Overall the amenities, location, standards of accom and facilities were excellent.

Cracking views and lovely house to stay in. The kitchen is well stocked and all the electrical appliances were of very good quality.

The grounds of the house are well kept and very picturesque.

Plenty of wood available for the fire and very easy handover/takeover procedure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, size and standard of the accommodation.
Liked least: Poor wifi sig but see that as a bonus personally.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese08...
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of piece in Fairyland”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Along the narrow roads of the Scotland countryside, our blended family of 9 made our way caravaning in three cars from Glasgow to the Inverlouvin house. The sun was long set and it was darky dark. Were we headed to the end of the world? Finally safe behind the green gate, just over the bridge with a waterfall, we found our beds and slept for the night. Slowly everyone rose at their hour and marveled at the view of the loche, the beautiful ferns, flowers, waterfalls. Wow. We were from California, where palm trees sway and cactus abound, so the lushness, color of the foilage, and flowers were mesmerizing. The house was pretty comfortable, the kitchen really nice for cooking for a group. Not too far to shop for staples at the resort store or the one located at the post office. We spent a week, hiking, relaxing, and took day trips to Castle Urkhart and Castle Sterling, both wonderful. One day we rented a boat from across the lake--- we were thinking it would have more power, so it might have been better to rent a kayak, which is more my style anyway. Now back home in our routines, we treasure our memories of our week at Inverlouvin.

Only one warning... the little black "midgets" were in high gear and they bite... bug spray is the only way. No screens on the windows, so it got a bit warm and stuffy because we could not open the windows because the buggers invade.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings
Liked least: The little black bugs that bite and no screens on the windows, to let in fresh air.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing