We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of Cattle & Creel

Cattle & Creel
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$79
Description: Cattle & Creel is a stunning steakhouse and seafood bar in Helensburgh. It offers food with provenance to be enjoyed with stunning views across the Clyde to Rosneath Peninsula. There are also cosy booths and a marble bar featuring seafood on ice where you can enjoy a glass of wine and some freshly chucked oysters while you watch your meal cooked in the open plan kitchen. Cattle & Creel has become known for its generous seafood platter for two featuring a whole fresh West Coast lobster and langoustines in garlic butter, mussels in white wine sauce, pan-fried scallops, oysters, hand cut chips and bread from a local bakery. All our desserts our handmade and include our Helensburgh famous toffee sticky toffee pudding as the restaurant sits on the site of an old toffee shop. Just a five minute stroll along the prom will take you to this great new restaurant so why not seek it out.
Restaurant details
Description: Cattle & Creel is a stunning steakhouse and seafood bar in Helensburgh. It offers food with provenance to be enjoyed with stunning views across the Clyde to Rosneath Peninsula. There are also cosy booths and a marble bar featuring seafood on ice where you can enjoy a glass of wine and some freshly chucked oysters while you watch your meal cooked in the open plan kitchen. Cattle & Creel has become known for its generous seafood platter for two featuring a whole fresh West Coast lobster and langoustines in garlic butter, mussels in white wine sauce, pan-fried scallops, oysters, hand cut chips and bread from a local bakery. All our desserts our handmade and include our Helensburgh famous toffee sticky toffee pudding as the restaurant sits on the site of an old toffee shop. Just a five minute stroll along the prom will take you to this great new restaurant so why not seek it out.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, our server was super friendly and helpful. Three of has steaks - all cooked to perfection according to our tastes. One fussy “child” wanted the seafood linguine without mussels and squid but cooked in a mushroom sauce without mushrooms!! Even I wanted to ask her to leave! This was not a problem and she got exactly what she ordered. The food was well presented and beautifully cooked. We will definitely be back

Thank Jet569749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice seafood and wine and reasonably priced. Exceptionally good manageress/waitress who handled our large group amazingly well. Decor is generally good although some aspects look a bit odd. Overall, well worth a trip over

Thank SteveW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and the food was excellent. Haggis bon bons and calamari tempura appetizers were great. Seafood linguini, haddock and homemade burger were all excellent. Nicely decorated and good service.

Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This was our second visit .... to celebrate a very special time in our lives.
Our first visit, last year was amazing. The steak was Aberdeen Angus ... and was succulent. Genuinely fantastic.
For this reason, we visited, last night, for our special meal. The waitress was charming, friendly and helpful. She was the only reason we didn't comment adversely. The steak was tasteless and almost impossible to cut ... I even left some at the side of the plate ... unheard of.
I'm so sorry for this review, but we were so disappointed.

Thank Lusslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBarcaowners, Manager at Cattle & Creel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hello Lusslassie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write some feedback for us. Albeit it was not all positive we are still so grateful for the 4 star review. I am so sorry to hear about your poor steak experience, I can assure you that this is not our usual quality of steak and therefore I am only sorry that you didn't make us aware whilst we were checking back on and looking after you. We are so grateful for your fabulous comment about our waitress, we really pride ourselves on our customer service and would have been more than happy to have cooked you a fresh one or alternative dish. I hope you choose to give us another chance in the future as I am confident you will not be disappointed!


Warm regards,
Jemma and Team Cattle and Creel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Asked for the sea food platter looked good when it arrived but was not up to expections poor mussels one tampura prawn only good thing about it was the oysters

1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBarcaowners, Manager at Cattle & Creel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Robert!

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback.

I am sorry to hear about your seafood platter, especially the mussels as they are one of our most popular dishes and we always receive such brilliant feedback on them. As can happen with our fresh seafood items, we sometimes sell out of items on the platter especially if the suppliers have had difficulty in getting enough stock. Sometimes this means we have to substitute some items on the menu for other seafood items and I understand that this was the case with yours and was explained to you by your server. As well as the lobster, mussels and oysters we included a selection of tempura fish items including calamari, haddock and monkfish as well as pan seared garlic prawns and the sides that the platter comes with. I can only apologise again that it was not up to your expectations and hope that we will see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Team Cattle and Creel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cattle & Creel also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Cattle & Creel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing