We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a romantic break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom - Superking bed with luxury matress topper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom - Superking bed with luxury matress topper
Coach House @ The Glen Coach House @ The Glen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Bedroom - Superking bed with luxury matress topper
Coach House @ The Glen
Coach House @ The Glen
Light and spacious living area with fully equipped kitchen
Luxury bathroom with shower over 'P-shaped' bath
Luxury bathroom with heated towel rail
Complimentary toiletries
Bedroom - Twin beds
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, fridge and freezer
Bedroom
The garden at Coach House @ The Glen
The garden
The garden in the summer
'The Glen' and the entrance to Coach House @ The Glen
Winter at the Coach House
Beautiful blossom trees line the streets of Helensburgh in Spring
Helensburgh looking to the East
Beautiful reflections of Ben Lomond in Loch Lomond
'Maid of the Loch' on Loch Lomond
Loch Lomond boat trip leaving from Luss pier
Loch Fyne
Inveraray Castle - a great day out
The old Clyde Puffer 'Vital Spark'
Coach House @ The Glen has been awarded 4* by the Scottish Tourist Board
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Woody W
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic break”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Coach House for our 20th wedding anniversary. We did quite a bit of research to find somewhere really special to stay where we would feel we were really spoiling ourselves, and we were not at all disappointed. The Coach House offers privacy, luxury and comfort and has been very tastefully decorated and kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The superking-sized bed was super-comfy, the bathroom was very classy with a lovely bath and shower, the kitchen had every mod con (including coffee-maker, dishwasher and washing machine) and the gardens were superb. The whole place is very light and airy. What made everything really special was the comprehensive array of groceries provided, including half a dozen duck eggs from the garden, milk, bread, butter, coffee, tea and biscuits. Toiletries were also provided. The place is very quiet and peaceful - at night all we could hear was the faint sound of the stream passing through the garden. However, it is only a ten-minute stroll down to the waterfront with some great restaurants. Susan was very welcoming and it was clear from all the extremely positive comments in the guestbook that other guests have all loved the Coach House just as much as we did. There is also a book where guests can write suggestions for other guests of places to go and places to eat - this is a great idea and very helpful. There is lots of tourist information in the Coach House as well, along with DVDs and board games if you just want to stay in. Can't fault this place or the warm welcome we received.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and privacy.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Woody for your comprehensive review of the Coach House. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our little extras useful. Kind Regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser61...
1 review
“Great comfortable stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well equipped, spotless, comfy beds, complimentary groceries and toiletries. Great base to explore Loch Lomond and beyond. Only criticism I could poss make is sofa was quite small, but that is really nit picking!!!! Fully recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Coach House. Kind Regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia314
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Hidden gem because of location (Helensburgh is lovely, beautiful quiet street and close to shops and beach) and because of the apartment. Spacious, spotless, practical, private with a homely feel. Welcome basket is a lovely surprise. Garden is beautiful, ducks eggs are great and area is fantastic. Visit Hill House when the weather asks for an indoor acitivity or go sailing when the sun is out!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Hi Lydia,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Coach House, Helensburgh and the surrounding area....perhaps we might see you again if you visit the West Coast for some more sailing!
Kind Regards,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would very highly recommend it!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We visited The Coach House after reading the 5* reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed, it is situated on a quiet leafy road only a short stroll from Helensburgh centre and is the perfect spot to relax and unwind.
The accommodation is very well equipt, and the lovely owners has very thoughtfully provided everything you could possibly need to have a really enjoyable stay.
It was a very pleasant surprise to find fresh milk, juice and butter in the fridge and many other store cupboard staples in the kitchen, along with half a dozen delicious fresh duck eggs. You can watch the ducks running around the garden from the Coach House windows.
The decor is subtle and relaxing, and the bed is incredibly comfortable, we slept extremely well.
We consider ourselves very lucky to have found the Coach House and would happily give it 5*'s and highly recommend it to anyone considering booking. We shall definitely return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location of the property along with the beautiful views over the garden.
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Dear Yvonne, Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review....especially as I know how much you wanted to keep this as your secret retreat!! I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit. Kind Regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived in a flat, well prepared for visitors with a baby. We found toys, a highchair and a cot. The items were in perfect condition as was the whole flat. A crying baby at night is also no problem since there is no other flat in the Coach House.
We were also happy about some daily products (milk, eggs, ... ) waiting for us when we arrived.

The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped. In the flat were even maps and books about the surrounding area.

The landlords are very friendly and helpful.

Holidays really start when you arrive!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you very much Angela for your lovely feedback. It was great meeting you all and we are so pleased that you found our baby pack useful during your holiday. Kind Regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing