We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fisherwood cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fisherwood Cottage

The cottage with path to the river.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage with path to the river.
Cosy retreat. A home away from home. Awaiting you: fresh hotel-quality Egyptian cotton linen and two thicknesses of memory foam pillows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The cottage with path to the river.
Cosy retreat. A home away from home.
Awaiting you: fresh hotel-quality Egyptian cotton linen and two thicknesses of memory foam pillows.
Enjoy playing some board games, listening to the radio, and watching DVDs / TV.
Relax in front of the fire on the comfy sofa and armchair with a view to the river.
Fully equipped kitchen with essentials: oil, salt and pepper, herbs, fresh milk, teabags and sugar.
Shower Room. We provide fluffy towels and shower gel.
Cook your own meals and have a cuppa!
Relax on the deck and enjoy the garden and the riverside view!
Our Guest Guide to tell you about the cottage and what is available locally.
Route planner Miles for Fisherwood Cottage.
Route planner Kms for Fisherwood Cottage.
Route planner for Fisherwood Cottage.
Recharge your batteries in nature.
The deck is ideal for a peaceful morning coffee or an evening toast.
Stay warm in our cosy cottage even when it's snowing!
Walk along the river path to reach Loch Lomond or Dumbarton Castle.
Our stone circle and wild garlic to use in salads.
Enjoy the relaxing sound of the stream.
Use your instant BBQ to make tasty meals.
Driveway and garden in Spring.
Snow cake.
The driveway covered in snow!
Loch Lomond from the air. Balloch is on the left side of the picture.
A beautiful day on the loch!
Enjoy a walk along the river.
Newly restored railings.
Press the bell and we will welcome you into your home away from home.
A fresh pint of milk awaits you in the fridge.
(Arty photographer time...)
An easy way to recharge your electronics.
The cooker has four induction rings and two ovens.
Homemade tea light holder.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
helenwhit...
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fisherwood cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Michael and Nolwenn were the perfect hosts, we had a wonderful stay the cottage was perfect the attention to detail was fantastic even down to milk tea biscuits and slippers.. they were so helpful we would defiantly recommend and we will be back thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a lovely stay at fisherwood cottage. A really cosy wee cabin with lots of things to do close by! Would definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFG121
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Fairytale Cottage”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely Loved staying in Fisherwood Cottage, my husband and I didn't want to leave. Nolwenn and Michael have made it into a beautiful holiday home and have put a lot of thought and effort into making your stay as comfortable as possible.
Fantastic location, 5 mins walk to local shops, eating places etc. Boat trips for the Loch are just a few minutes walk on the river path.
After having a fantastic day out, it was so lovely to get back to our warm and cosy little hideaway cottage, to put our feet up and relax.
We will definitely be booking to stay again soon, hopefully for a bit longer next time.
Thank you so much to the perfect hosts: Michael and Nolwenn X

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“portacabin”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

first of all this is not a cottage . it is a portacabin which is not warm the windows arent sealed properly and it is cold and drafty not warm and cosy as described .you have to boil a kettle to get hot water to wash the dishes.the heating is not sufficent and can be controlled with a smart app from the main house. there is a dehumidfer which suggest to me dampness. the kitchen area is tiny and the small prepartion area is to small about 1foot 6 inchs.which was a joke the cooker was not the best and the oven was poor at its best. who ever advertised this as a cottage is delude . it is not worth the fee that was paid and i wouldnt advise anyone to book it it is not what it is advertised as and should be removed from trip adviser site so no one else is conned .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
We were disappointed to receive this review, and surprised. We leave our guests alone to enjoy the Cottage but on their second day as a courtesy we sent a text. “Is everything ok for you? Let us know if you need anything. Michael and Nolwenn”. We got the reply, “Aye thanks got all our shopping delivered and enjoying the solitude thanks”.
If there was a problem, why not ask? We leave the guests all our contact details, and a written guide about how everything works.
The heating is set by a hand-held remote control, which we explain, plus there is a separate instruction sheet with the remote. We can only assume they did not follow the instructions, or ask. There are two heaters, which is why so many guests specifically note, “warm and cosy”. (We have no external control over the heating.)
The “draughty windows” is a puzzle. A week before their arrival we had five new high-specification double-glazed windows fitted. There can be no draughts, unless they had the vents open on the windows.
The kitchen is small, but it is clearly shown in the photographs. The cooker is modern with four radiant hobs and two ovens, one a fan oven. We have recently renewed all the pots and pans.
Because it is a fairly small space we do provide a dehumidifier - in damp winter weather with two people cooking and showering it can get steamed up. We explain upon arrival, and in our written guide, how to use the dehumidifier if the space gets steamed up, maybe whilst they are out. There is no dampness. The guests only noted, “there is a dehumidifier which suggest to me dampness” – not that it was damp.
We would have liked the opportunity to address any points during their stay, and did check everything was ok.
We have a lot of guests that are now returning for their second visit so suggest this review is read in that context.
We can only advise future guests to read our other independent reviews, many of which note, “well-equipped, warm and cosy”.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roving665...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The lodge was perfect for our few days exploring the loch. The lodge had everything you could want and was really cosy and warm. We both loved it and will be booking our next stay as soon as we can!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing