We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday cruise”

Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best way to experience what is known as the Queen of Scottish Lochs. Sweeney's Cruise Co is one of Scotland's longest running family businesses and Loch Lomond's only 5 star cruise operator. Based in the heart of Ballcoh village at Loch Lomond's southern end, closest to Scotland's major cities; just 35 minutes from Glasgow and 90 from Edinburgh. With daily 1 and 2 hour circular cruises, waterbus services linking the villages of Balloch, Luss and Balamaha, speed boat trips as well as private charter options there really is something for everyone.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were a party of 16 with children. It was cold and breezy. The cruise last around 45 minutes.

We all kept on going upstairs and when it got a bit cold, went downstairs. You could get hot & cold drinks on board. Lucky with the weather as it didn't rain, just threatened.

If it had been warmer on the day, it would have been perfect.

Thank pkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweeneysCruises, Sales & Marketing at Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent review

We are pleased you enjoyed the cruise, unfortunately Scottish weather is extremely unpredictable

Hopefully the next time you join us it will be warmer!

Thanks

SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"neil oliver"
in 30 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 15 reviews
"loch lomond"
in 161 reviews
"recorded commentary"
in 14 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 10 reviews
"hour trip"
in 20 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 23 reviews
"small bar"
in 6 reviews
"open deck"
in 8 reviews
"pleasant trip"
in 8 reviews
"points of interest"
in 11 reviews
"nice boat"
in 7 reviews
"comfortable seating"
in 7 reviews
"running commentary"
in 6 reviews
"ticket office"
in 9 reviews
"lovely hour"
in 5 reviews
"information given"
in 5 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We went on the 3.30pm tour on the Estina today, the weather was glorious and sitting on the top deck near the front gave a welcome breeze. The commentary is very good with the recognisable voice of Neil Oliver. Unlike some tours where there is a constant stream of commentary this one has intervals where you can soak in the views and reflect on the history of the Loch.
The Estina is a lovely boat with all the amenities necessary, from toilets to a bar well stocked with beers, ciders and spirits. The bar also boasts a state of the art coffee machine. We will most definitely do this again. Brilliant afternoon.

Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweeneysCruises, Sales & Marketing at Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Good Morning Moira,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review, this is very much appreciate

You probably had one of the best days of the year weather wise for taking our 1 hour Experience Cruise! The commentary was specifically designed for this purpose not to be overly intrusive, we are pleased this made your experience more enjoyable

We look forward to welcoming you on board again in future, fingers crossed you get the same weather!

Thanks

SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Very nicely organised cruise, the cruise has its own mini bar where in you can find various hot and cold drinks. They show you all the historic places while taking you to various places. Avoid sitting outside when its windy as it can get very cold.

Thank Abhinav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweeneysCruises, Sales & Marketing at Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your recent cruise with ourselves and the information provided explaining the history of Loch Lomond

We hope to welcome you on board again in the future

Thanks

SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We took the full 2 hour cruise and it was wonderful. The commentary was excellent and not obtrusive. The loch and the views were fab. You could get off at Luss and wait for a later boat back but it was nice just to do the round trip. There is a cafe/bar on the boat if needed but the scenery was enough for us

1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweeneysCruises, Sales & Marketing at Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Island Discovery Cruise - the views are absolutely beautiful no matter what the weather on Loch Lomond!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in future

Thanks

SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent a very pleasurable hour on the 4,30pm mini cruise good running commentary on tannoy system telling you what to look out for and knowledgeable staff as well. There were only around 12 people on upper deck and it was a beautiful day so able to sit back and enjoy a nice glass of wine. Boat sells drink but does not accept cards so make sure you take cash.. All in all a very nice trip.

Thank R0ni2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweeneysCruises, Sales & Marketing at Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are pleased both yourself and your wife had a nice relaxing cruise, and that you were lucky enough to get some good weather!

We appreciate your feedback and hopefully can welcome you on board again in the future

Thanks

SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Sweeney's Cruise Co. Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing