We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous family fun”
Review of Loch Katrine

Loch Katrine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16,17*
and up
Inversnaid Day Trip with Return Cruise on Loch...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Loch Katrine - one of Scotland's special places. Just as special as the magnificent scenery is the famous steamship "Sir Walter Scott" which itself has been a landmark in The Trossachs for over a hundred years. Your visit is not complete without a cruise on this wonderful ship, or on "Lady of the Lake", the perfect way to experience the beauty of Loch Katrine. Perhaps you'll just want to relax with a coffee or a meal in the Brenachoile Cafe Bar, shop for a souvenir and take a stroll by the shore, or bring the family for a cycle trip?
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There's a beautiful 10+ mile paved trail around the lake. You can rent bikes and ride around, go on a boat tour, or just walk the path. I opted to walk the path and then ventured into the trails that shot off the side of the paved path. There were all kinds of small waterfalls, streams and otherwise beautiful sites.

The cabins for rent looked really nice and fairly new! This would be a very nice day out in the highlands.

Thank trailblazer7232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Loch Katrine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your review. Do come back for a wee break in our Eco Lodges see lochkatrinecamping.com for details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sir walter scott"
in 136 reviews
"boat trip"
in 74 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 54 reviews
"steam boat"
in 30 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 37 reviews
"steamers"
in 34 reviews
"hired bikes"
in 23 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 18 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"sunny day"
in 17 reviews
"car park"
in 39 reviews
"top deck"
in 10 reviews
"cycle ride"
in 10 reviews
"booking office"
in 11 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
"pier cafe"
in 9 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 7 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived by 9.45, hired bikes for a very reasonable £15 for 4 hours.Took them on the 10.30 steamboat( £14)up the length of the loch.Staff were lovely coffee and spirits on board.45 mins later docked ,bikes unloaded for us ,then we cycled down the east side for 14 miles back to where we started stopping for a picnic half wayScenery and weather was stunning.Cycling was hard work took about 2 hours but worth it!

Thank roberjAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Loch Katrine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your kind words - see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A visit to Loch Katrine had been recommended by friends and we are definitely pleased we heeded their advice! We were lucky enough to get tickets for a sailing on the Lady of the Lake - the smaller of the two commercial boats. Tam, the captain, was brilliant, informative and a good laugh. He was suitably excited when he spotted one of the nesting ospreys on the water's edge.

The stocked hot drinks bar (and licensed drinks too) was downstairs, whilst we were upstairs, but the enterprising chap was taking orders on the top deck. Definitely a time to sit on the top deck when it was a day as glorious as ours. Rugs are available for those people who are chilly.

Thank you Tam and team!

1  Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Loch Katrine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you came while we are having this fantastic weather. I will pass your comments on to Tam and the crew. I am sure he will be pleased that you enjoyed his commentary. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My experience was amazing, the lodges are fully equipped with bedding and towels.
The boat trips also

Thank R8759VXangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Loch Katrine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Loch Katrin with family and my elderly grandma who was in a wheelchair. The staff could not have been more attentive on ‘sir Walter Scott’ steam boat. The trip was lovely with a nicely stocked bar and stunning views. A must whe visiting the Trossachs

Thank catlauj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Loch Katrine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Katrine also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Loch Katrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing