We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful flat - well equipped, quality...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilybank

View of Kilchattan Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Kilchattan Bay
Old Pier Village from Pier
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View of Kilchattan Bay
Old Pier
Village from Pier
Hall
Shower Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge with Open Fire
Dining Kitchen
Dining Kitchen
'Lilybank' from Shore
Rear Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful flat - well equipped, quality furnishing, heating and lighting.”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, son and I enjoyed the use of this flat for one week. We found it comfortable, compact but quite spacious. Modern kitchen appliances and utensils; excellent crockery and cutlery were provided. There were fine views through large windows, all with tasteful blinds.Kilchattan is a quiet, restful place for a peaceful holiday. The access by two flights of stairs was described in the small print as 'not suitable for the elderly - but we found it well provided with hand rails which made it easy - (I'm 88).

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Dear George and family. I'm so delighted you enjoyed your stay at Lilybank and found the flat comfortable. I hope it brought some lovely memories of holidaying at the Bay back. You didn't get the best of weather but I hope you were able to get out and about a bit and it didn't spoil your holiday too much. I would be delighted to welcome back you and your family anytime.
Kind regards,
Merle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony37201...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent location and apartment”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Kilchattan is a wonderful location, near the southern tip of Bute, and Lilybank is a spacious, comfortable and well equipped flat on the second [top] floor. The view from the windows is amazing - wall to wall Firth of Clyde, with the sea only a few metres away.
The rear view of the gardens and the old cliff is bird paradise, with a buzzard hovering above, and dozens of of house martins creating constant aerial displays. The seabirds at the front were an ever present contrast depending on the state of the tide.
We stayed a week, and could have easily stayed for two. Lots of pleasant walks, scenic, historical, etc from the front door and in other parts of Bute, never more than twenty minutes drive away. All this plus the good weather will certainly draw us back.
And thanks Merle for all your help with our little emergency on the last day!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was spectacular
Liked least: Impossible to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you Anthony for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review about Lilybank and the island. I look forward to welcoming you back anytime in the future.
Kind regards, Merle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trev232
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great spot overlooking the Bay, splendid base for strolls or cycle rides
Useful bus stop nearby for trips to Rothesay and other places of interest

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Kilchattan Bay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmack91
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place with accomodation to match”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I took my daughter and grand daughter for a quiet week on the Isla of Bute. I saw the flat on the Trip advisor websie and thought it looked nice.
When we arrived we were very pleased that the flat more than matched the decription and photos placed on the web advert.

I took the executive decision to give the front room to my daughter and miss perpetual motion, as it had a most beautiful view. My daughter said that waking up to that view every morning was worth the price of the flat alone.

The flat had all the things you would have at home, so it was just like a home from home. It even had all the kit you would need to go to the beach and a cupboard full of board games.

All in all, we liked Lilybank very much and would return at the drop of a hat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Bute. Thank you for your kind comments about the flat and I look forward to welcoming you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sniffingm...
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great flat, Great Island and Great Views”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What more could you want. The view from the front windows across the bay and across to the mainland is superb. You can just sit with the window open and listen to the sea and the bird life. Great walks from the front door plus a good pub serving superb meals just a short drive away.

The flat and the kitchen are well equipped with a working dishwasher, microwave, Washing Machine, bedding and everything you could need is supplied. Great shower. The only thing to watch if you are mobility impaired is that it is a 3rd floor flat and you have to climb a spiral staircase to get to the flat.

We enjoyed the traffic free roads and the slow relaxing pace of having a holiday in the Island of Bute. The small village even has a good bus service to Rothesay if you do not want to drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: The Spiral Staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about your holiday experience on Bute and in particular, your complements about Lilybank.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing