We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss in Bute”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side.
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
From north side.
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Living room
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jenny G
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bliss in Bute”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the second time that we have stayed in this beautifully decorated cottage. The lovely decor is complimented by the well equipped, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. The setting is second to none, sitting right on the waters edge - the views are stunning! The location is fantastic with the ferry and town centre only a few minutes by car. However it is also a lovely walk into town either by the sea or through the woods. There is plenty to do on the island itself, lots of lovely walks, beaches, cafes and shops. We also visited the pool this time and have previously been to the castle! We would definitely recommend this and we hope to be back very soon!

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con42
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a fabulous cottage on the waters edge. It is clean comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The rooms are large and all well equipped, all with sea views. There is a feeling of being on a ship with water visible from every window, there is a small walled garden at the front of the property which is a suntrap for a good part of the day. The cottage is in an excellent position 3 miles from the town of Rothesay which has good facilities for supplies and will deliver them if you don't have transport. It is suited to those with transport and those without as the bus stops are just outside the house and runs a frequent service all across the island. There are lovely beaches on the island and some beautiful gardens, a castle and plenty cycle and walking trails. Bute is easily accessible from the mainland and it makes it all worth while when you have such good accommodation. I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and style of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie o
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Montford with my husband, daughter and my three grandchildren. It was the most peaceful and restful holiday I have had in years. The cottage is simply beautiful with the most stunning views. Cosy and relaxing. The owners have the cottage beautifully decorated and their love for the property is evident throughout. I have booked to go again in October. Well worth the visit.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself as it is beautiful with stunning views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herdy03
2 reviews
“Great location, great views, great cottage! ”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are just home from a fantastic week on Bute. The cottage was perfect. Location and setting could not have been better (very close to town centre and ferry, stunning views). The garden is lovely for relaxing in the July sunshine and the cottage is lovely for relaxing in the July rain, watching the weather come and go. The bedrooms are a good size and the living space is very comfortable. The cottage is immaculate, and furnished and decorated to a very high standard, with interesting artwork. All in all, a very relaxing week and we were delighted with our accommodation!

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLY18La...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great week at this cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a great location! We could hardly tear ourselves away from views out of the windows!
Watching the birds feeding and the occasional seals was fascinating.
The weather was very cold, we even had snow, it was great to come back to the warmth and comfort of the cottage.
Everything was provided for a great holiday!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The shower room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.