We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle House(Rothesay)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howards Way(Rothesay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ebba B & B(Rothesay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardyne(Rothesay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 079)
Filter reviews
1 079 results
Traveller rating
339
422
195
70
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
422
195
70
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach driverour waiterdining roomnational holidayssea viewshearings holidayentertainment roombay hotelswaiting staffevening entertainmentworked very hardrestaurant managerelvis tributebeautiful buildinglimited editionbar pricesgreat entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1 079 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

dinner with friends, starter was strange, smoked haddock with a sweet crumble topping,conflicting flavours,chicken was cold, had to be reheated which toughened the food,great dining room with wood panelling, Cabaret & dancing enjoyable

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank carwash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn-Rothesay, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your posting but disappointing to see you did not enjoy your meal with us. We do appreciate any comments guests have and I would like to apologise for any problems you had with your meal. Good to see you enjoyed our entertainment.

Kind Regards

Debbie

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Room allocated was a standard twin with bath, no shower. Apparently, standard twins only have baths. We were able to up grade to a double with shower over bath at a cost of £5 each per day. Thought it was worth paying the extra for room 233, nice and quiet, view over the back lawns and woodland. Very comfortable bed, waiter service and food very good so far. Our holiday package includes four drinks vouchers each per day, we are staying up until we have used them all

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn-Rothesay, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post on our site and always good to see our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenburn and our lovely island again in the future. Take care and thanks you again for your posting.

Kind Regards

Debbie
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Just returned from a lovely weekend break at the Glenburn Hotel.
Had a fabulous time ..we were with another couple of friends and we all agreed it was a lovely break .
Food, accommodation and surroundings were excellent.
Thank you all involved.
Also to Shearings and our driver Tony who was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent .....no sea view but didn't mind. Room number 412
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank huddersfieldsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn-Rothesay, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Many thanks for this wonderful review from your recent weekend at the hotel.. Great to see how much you enjoyed yourselves and we really do appreciate your kind comments on the service your received during your stay. Look forward to seeing you back again and hopefully not before to long.

Kind Regards
Debbie
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Over on the island of Bute to do a bit of work and placed in the Glenburn Hotel. It’s ok, nothing to write home about, no internet in the bedrooms, heating on permanently, way too hot but the hotel caters for older people on bus tours as their main source of income. Which shows in the breakfast, having to ask for cereal and orange juice rather than helping yourself. Bar service very slow and poor parking.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank craigmacleod8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn-Rothesay, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Good evening from the Glenburn, can I start by thanking you for your review. You are correct in saying no internet in the bedrooms but we are currently working on that just now. Sorry you had problems with your heating but we could have rectified this if it had been reported and we really do not like to hear that our guests are uncomfortable We are a privately owned hotel and we cater for many different guests which does include coach parties but this is not our main source of income. Self service system does not work for us in the restaurant we have tried it in the past but due to the numbers when we are full and the layout of the room its just not suitable. I would like to apologise for any issues that you had with the service in the bar but its not something we get complaint's about. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review on our site.

Kind Regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Partner and I went for a wedding recently which was being conducted up at Mount Stuart House. And we booked two rooms. We had been in to this hotel to view out of interest several years ago while touring the island, And in actual fact is better than what we expected. We thought it would be another run down and dated hotel taken over by a touring company and in actual fact was the oppostire. yes we never had one of the recently modernised rooms however our view overloonginh the water was immense just on its own. It was clean, comfortable, and roomy, And quality of sleep was fantastic. Would i stay here again,,, most definately. Staff were friendly and the food was great, Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustAndy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn-Rothesay, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Lovely to see you found the hotel to your liking and great comments about the staff and service during your stay. Hopefully we do get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenburn and our lovely Island in the future and thanks again for your posting.

Kind Regards

Debbie

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews