We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic - we'll be back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 18 battery Place

View from living room window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from living room window
The view of the bay from the living room Pub with restaurant next door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
View from living room window
The view of the bay from the living room
Pub with restaurant next door
view of the front of the flat ground flat right
Bedroom with kingsize bed
living room with view of Rothesay  Bay
Bedroom with double bed
bathroom
Dining kitchen with wash machine,tumble dryer and dishwasher
kitchen another view
Separate shower room with double shower
view from living room window
Living room
bathroom with shower over bath
another view of bathroom
American fridge freezer
another view of kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
weeannie5...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic - we'll be back”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfectly situated for short stroll into Rothesay with amazing views from the living room across the bay - very peaceful. A wee bit confused by the last review as we found no dampness whatsoever in the flat (and we looked because of the review) but nothing. Peter was there to welcome us and had the heating on so very warm welcome - caught up with Vicky later and we thought there were no towels but she was able to tell us exactly where to find them (BEHIND) the bathroom door where we hadn't looked!! Flat is so big that everyone can have their own wee bit of privacy if required. Would definately recommend and we will definately be back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size
Liked least: nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“18 Battery Place - Cannot recommend.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

18 Battery Place. Dec21st-Dec29th 2015. Booked for a small family Christmas holiday. Chosen primarily based on reviews commenting on warm welcome by owner and the beautiful views across the bay.
Cannot recommend.
On arrival flat was cold and very damp. The owner was in the flat when we arrived, acknowledged the coldness and strong damp smell in the flat informing us there had been nobody in it since October. We were advised to keep the heating on. The flat had obviously not been heated or aired prior to our arrival.
Despite having the heating on high and windows open to let the moisture out, creating cold draughts around the flat, the dampness was an issue, especially in bedroom at back of house where water was collecting on the skirting boards and running down into the carpet causing it to become sodden.
The damp earthy smell from the room was such that we had to keep the door closed to keep the smell from emanating throughout the rest of the flat which also smelled but less strongly. We dried the skirting boards off all around the room moving the bed and bedside table out from the wall to do so. The wall here was damp and we could see the wallpaper was peeling off. Within an hour the skirting boards were wet again and water was running down into the carpet. There were also two sets of ladders in this bedroom when we arrived, one laid across the top of the wardrobe and another set leaning against the wall next to it giving it the feel of a utility room.
For the first few days of our stay the member of our party who was staying in this room reported that the bed itself was damp and clammy to sleep in and had to use an air freshener and scented candles to try and mask the smell.
The kitchen is fitted with lots of cupboards and drawers which ironically are mostly empty. There was little with which to prepare and serve a meal for the four people in our party let alone the six people the flat can accommodate.
In one cupboard there were several thin pans with their non-stick surfaces coming off, some of which were burnt, rusty and unusable. One of these had the remains of somebody else’s food still dried on to it.
Also provided, were a few small cereal bowls, plates, side plates (some of which also had old food dried on them), mugs, an assortment of glasses, most of which were dirty, chipped or cracked and an odd assortment of cutlery. We had to wash everything we might use before we could use it. Not provided was any ovenware in order to use the oven to cook with nor anything in which to put prepared food in order to serve a meal, Christmas or otherwise.
The fridge freezer had bits of mould growing in it due to lack of recent use and required cleaning, which we also had to do, before we could use it.
When informed of our concerns, the owner’s response was totally unprofessional and no action was taken by the owner to address any of the issues we had raised. Instead we were informed how lucky we were to be renting the flat for such a good price.
On arrival, before any of this had transpired, the owner informed us that there was no rush to vacate the flat on our book out day and to lock up and post keys back through letterbox. Contrary to this arrangement, while we were packing up to catch our ferry, the owner arrived unannounced in the flat with another person, abruptly asking us if we were ready to get out. Not wishing to sour what had otherwise been a lovely time in Rothesay itself, we attempted to leave on reasonable terms with the owner. The owner’s response was again completely unprofessional, the most elderly member of our party being referred to as “this one here” while her companion directed us “get your stuff and get out”.
I can honestly say I have never experienced anything like this in any business transaction before in my life and regrettably the only positive thing I can say is that this flat has beautiful views across the bay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
1 review
“Perfect spacious island base”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The flat is clean and well maintained with plenty of space.
Really easy access to local shops (just 5 minutes away), adequate parking in the area.
We were greeted and shown round the flat by our excellent host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No1Bionic...
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Complete Package!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Positives:
Apartment easy to find, met by the owner 'Vicky' a very pleasant and helpful lady. Apartment is very spacious and spotlessly clean. Views from living room window amazing especially so when the ferries, small boats and the spectacular paddle steamer 'Waverley' passes close by.
The new fitted kitchen is huge, you would have to stay a month to fill the vast array of cupboards. Plenty of hot water on tap! Overall a very good base from which to explore the beautiful Isle of Bute.

Negatives:
We were disappointed with appearance of flaking paint in the communal passageway, it is however by definition communal so all tenants will have to contribute some TLC.
Finally, little niggles, the apartment is lacking bathrobe hooks in the shower room and could do with a shelve or two in the twin bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness and views
Liked least: communal passageway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved the flat, lots of room and great window looking on to the ferry port and central for walking about, 5 mins along the road and you are in the main part of Rothesay, just what we wanted to save lots of driving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;