We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Loch Etive View

Garden from patio of Loch Etive View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden from patio of Loch Etive View
View from Front Door Patio and Ben Cruachan from bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Garden from patio of Loch Etive View
View from Front Door
Patio and Ben Cruachan from bedroom
Ben Cruachan from living room
View from Living Room down Loch Etive
Ben Duirnish from Bedroom
View of apartment from Loch Etive
Front Door
Stairs Up
Stairs Down
Living Room
Dining Area
Kitchen area
Twin Room
Living area
Living area and kitchen
Kitchen to Hall
Double Room (bed can be split into two 3ft singles)
Double Room (bed can be split into two singles)
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Becky D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is in a gorgeous place! Fiona and Ian were very helpful! Not too far away from the shops! Some lovely walks around! Would definitely recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
display5
France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor service spoiling an otherwise nice place”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It would have been a rather positive review if it wasn't the poor contact with the owners.

It started since the very beginning. When I booked the property the owner didn't seem to pay attention to what I was asking her and proceed on doing things her way.

Then we learned that we will have to pay for all the electricity we consummated during our stay since there is a coin machine which needs to be filled with 1 pound coins to provide electricity.

Then came the news that no towels are provided and when I said that we are with a little child and we are taking the plane with a restricted luggage policy, I was told that no exception was to be made and we need to pay 6 pounds per head to have towels. Now, I don't really understand how one can furnish entirely a home and rent it to people without towels! Especially when this fact was not mentioned anywhere when I was making the reservation.

Then when we arrived the owners (who weren't there but arrived 2 days later) never came to ask whether we need something or just say "hello". The same was on the day of our departure. And they leave downstairs from the cottage! May be I am a bit too old fashioned but this is not my understanding of hospitality.

Be aware that Scotland could be quite cold even during summer so be prepared to pay 3 extra pounds per day for electricity. Also I didn't enjoy sleeping on the mattresses provided for the double bed, they were old and rather soft, with old matrass protectors that make the most unpleasant noise when one is moving in the bed.

Otherwise, very nice view from the window and the barbecue is very good if you are lucky enough to have the weather with you. Good documentation on the regions provided. We rented for 1 entire week and the flat was not cleaned once during our stay

It's a pity that almost everything is well done at that place but the overall impression is bitter because of details that could be easily changed for not a lot of extra effort or money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The servce
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
I have never felt the urge to post a reply to a review about my property on trip adviser but feel that on this occasion it is merited.

This is the first ever bad review we’ve had in all the years we have done self-catering, our visitors’ books are full of glowing comments on our service and the facilities.

My wife and I discussed this particular booking at length well before our guests arrived, as we were bombarded from the moment our guests booked with obscure messages and demands. We have never had to cancel a booking before, but on this occasion wrote the letter of cancellation but then never sent it out, we like to give folks a chance.

Yes, we were away in Glasgow when our guests arrived, but our house sitter, who was here all weekend, met her arrival and showed her the apartment.

I have copied and pasted the relevant notes below which clearly show the information regarding the coin meter and the towels. The cost of power averages out at £1 per day.

Loch Etive View - electric convector heaters throughout, heated towel rail in the bathroom, emersion heater for water. Payment by meter £1.00 coins, a float of £5.00 of coins is supplied just in case you need them; please ensure the float is returned to £5.00 at the end of your holiday.

What’s Included in your Property – Your prices include, bed linen (cot linen/bedding not supplied), washing up liquid, dishcloths, oven glove and cleaning materials (just in case you feel the urge!). Towels can be supplied at £6.00 per head for this you get dish, kitchen, bath and hand towels and facecloths.

I think our guest expected hotel service but had booked a self-catering holiday. We like other self-catering owners provide just that and our properties are not cleaned during the stay of customers, we leave cleaning materials just in case guests need to clean while they are there, the same with towels, we only provide towels if requested and the small charge reflects the cleaning thereafter.

It’s a shame our guests showed a total disregard for our property. We have never in 11 years of providing self-catering holiday had so much mess to clean up on departure. Suffice to say a deep clean was required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
165grand
Taynuilt, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent value for your money !”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I (we) found the property well "laid out" very adequate , tidy, neat, lovely views,..most modern,
and both bedrooms were of a high standard ..with lots of cupboard space etc...
will probably come again !...
am now awaiting my deposit back ? ?

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviesin...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment like a home from home with everything required spotlessly clean . The views were stunning with deer crossing the track down to the loch daily . Fiona and Ian were absolutely brilliant helping with any queries we had . A beautiful place with beautiful people . Well worth the 10hr drive . We will definately be back .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils C
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing