We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
58
108
56
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
108
56
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inverewe gardens pub grub touring scotland dog friendly hotel ate here local attractions dining table smoked salmon comfortable hotel stayed for one night large portions game pie new chef village hall specials board steak pie cullen skink
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We booked this hotel as part of our journey on the NC500 and to be near to Inverewe gardens. The hotel looks run down from the outside and needs someone to give it a good upgrade if it is going to compete with other places for "kerb appeal". Our reception was off-hand and left to an off duty person to step in and show us to our room. The room had a "sea view" as advertised, but only a partial one across a flat roof and over a pile of burnt out rubbish in the field next to the hotel that could easily have been removed.
The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom equally so. We had a meal in the restaurant, which was all but deserted and the table server was surly and off hand. We were abandoned after our main course and had to tell the kitchen staff we were finished. The food was OK. We should have eaten in the bar which seemed popular with non-residents and probably the same food for less.
Breakfast was from 8.00 till 9.30. We came down at 8.30 to find that all the bakery had been eaten and when asked, the staff said all that they had available had been eaten already. Almost all of the fruit was gone and we had to ask for the yoghurt to be refreshed. It just seemed that service quality was not a priority for the staff of this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that I'm sure will provide a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davidandcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Poolewe Hotel whilst taking part in the NC500 route.

Guest feedback is important to us, good and not so good, and I do appreciate your comments regarding breakfast and the rubbish in the adjacent field. I am sure you can appreciate that during busy periods the food at breakfast time does need to be replenished regularly and this is always our priority. There may be the odd occasion when one product has completely sold out but this is not usual.

With regard to the 'rubbish' in the field next to the hotel, we have been waiting for the right time to burn this. Due to the current unusually hot weather it has not been safe to do so but as soon as it is this will be dealt with.

I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Poolewe Hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We had found it difficult to find a hotel in this area, so were delighted to find a room at the Poolewe hotel. It doesn't set out to be a 5 star hotel, but it served our purpose well. Our room was in an annexe and was very comfortable, though the walls weren't very well insulated! The bathroom was tiny but adequate. We had an excellent meal and the all round service was very friendly. Inverewe gardens are close by, and must be visited if you are in the area.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your one night visit to Poolewe Hotel. We are a small family run hotel and our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices with good locally sourced food. It is good to hear that you did have a very comfortable stay with an excellent meal and very friendly service and as you rightly point out, we are very close to the famous Inverewe Gardens, a must place to visit.

I do hope you will visit us again whenever you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a cottage in the village of Poolewe and used the bar at the Poolewe Hotel several times. The staff are excellent, friendly and efficient even when busy. Our dogs were made to feel very welcome even though they were not that well behaved. Food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. The bar was very comfortable and extremely clean. Would recommend highly to anyone visiting Poolewe.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank philippaparrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Poolewe Hotel whilst staying in a cottage in the village. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and would highly recommend the Hotel. I am glad to hear your dogs were made welcome; it is important to us that they are also accommodated and made to feel welcome.

I do hope you will visit us again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We had a meal here on the second last night of our week long stay in Gairloch. We love it up here and try to get back to same wee house every year. We are always delighted to find that although fairly small, Gairloch has a wonderful choice of places to eat and, although we have driven through Poolewe on numerous occasions, we had never had a meal in this Hotel. We loved it. We sat in the bar section. Our meals were delicious. Definitely added on to our list.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your fist visit to Poolewe Hotel so much and loved your meal in the bar. We are so pleased to hear that you will definitely be adding Poolewe Hotel to your list of must places to visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Traditional decor. Pleasant room. Staff friendly and efficient. Dog friendly - in room and able to take into bar for meal too. Had dinner as well as overnight stay. Food and service good. Felt comfortable and welcome here. Nice atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KatieB1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent overnight stay at Poolewe Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the food and service good, staff welcoming and room pleasant. I do hope you will visit us again when you are next in the area, maybe when on the North Coast 500 trail?

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews