We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dorwil Cottage

Kitchen which faces east
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory Front of the cottage looking West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory
Front of the cottage looking West
Front of the cottage looking from the West
Kitchen
Small toilet
Dining area
Ensuite area
Bedroom looking East
Ensuite double shower
Dining area looking towards the conservatory
Bedroom
Lounge
Front view looking from the North
Garden area to the South
Front view looking from the West
Garden area to the North
Garden area to the West
Main driveway looking to the West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary P
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Cottage was super. It had an on-suite as well as another toilet. Everything at hand. Bruce and Dorothy are very helpful and a lovely couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: There wasn't anything about my stay I can say That I disliked.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHBE
West Lothian, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we discovered Dorwil Cottage.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in many different self catering cottages over the years and Dorwil is one of the best! The cottage is lovely - it's well equipped, clean, bright and spacious, set in wonderful grounds. A big bonus was being able to bring our dog with us, and she was in her element running around the grounds! Bruce and Dorothy are wonderful hosts, attentive, friendly but also respectful of our privacy. We can thoroughly recommend Dorwil Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being genuinely dog friendly!
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaAshw...
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The owners made us very welcome and met us when we arrived. The cottages was just as described and we felt at home straight away. The garden was beautiful and the owners made our dog very welcome and was allowed to play in their garden. It was a very relaxing week and when our ageing relatives came to visit where we were staying the owners made them feel welcome too as they lived close to the cottage. The cottage is situated in a quiet area close to a small village but every main attraction can be reached easily. We loved being at the cottage and have booked again for next year already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the cottage of the countryside
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersqur...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage was a great place to stay. Only about 15 miles to the town center of Edinburgh and 25 miles to Glasgow. The cottage was really cute, it had a washer/dryer which was nice. The best part about it was how it was secluded from the streets and other neighborhoods so it was nice and quite. I loved having a kitchen as it saved us lots of money from eating out. Will try and stay there again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy H
Hammam Sousse, Tunisia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent really does not do it justice ....... it is better than that.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay in the cottage which really does have all the amenities you could possible wish for. It is ideally situated for exploring the many attractions in the area and for us provided and ideal base for family visiting as well. There is ample walking opportunities which start from the back gate of the cottage into the surrounding countryside. Dorothy and Bruce go out of their way to make sure you have all you require to make you stay enjoyable and memorable. We will be definitely back to stay there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and location of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing