We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filling and fair value”

Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Bathgate
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're West Lothian's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to this a few times and to several other Toby Carveries. They are all much the same. There is nothing exceptional here. The vegetables tend to be a bit tasteless and can dry out if there is not a great throughput of customers. The meat portions are sparing. Having said that, pretty well all carveries are like this.

This particular meal had only peas as a green vegetable. It had potatoes in three variations and carrots in two. There was also red cabbage and cauliflower. The gammon was pickled.

The staff were fine this time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tattvadarzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tattvadarzin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

We are disappointed to read that you found some aspects of your visit below our usual high standards.

We do hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Toby Carvery Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are friendly and the food was good for a reasonable price. Been to a few Toby’s over the years and this is defiantly one of the better ones. Go early to avoid the rush!

Thank Starlord35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Starlord35,

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

We are delighted with your very positive feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Toby Carvery Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We go here now and again, usually on a Sunday for the roast. Overall it's fine and is generally reasonable value for money. Service is good, food is fine and the general experience is about what you might expect.

Fors:
1. Easy parking and good location.
2. Easy to book and pay.
3. Decent service at the table.
4. Good value for money.

Against:
1. Sometimes there is a HELL of a wait for service at the carvery. I mean + 10 mins standing waiting.
2. When I say I want the extra large plate/deal that generally means that I'm expecting a decent wallop of meat. I hate it when the carver insists of asking several times like:

carver: "What would you like?"
me: "Beef, Turkey and Ham, please."
carver: "Would you like Beef?"
me: "Ah....yes"
carver: "Would you like Turkey?"
me: "Emmm ,,,, yes"
You get the idea... would be nice if they listened.
3. The deserts are very highly priced and way too large... not really possible to pay an average price for an average portion.. they are way too much (even for two people).

But on the whole.... this is a pretty good place for a Sunday when you cant be bothered cooking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoy coming to the Carvery on a regular basis.

We do agree that it is great value!

Feedback is very important to us and we thank you for your detailed comments.

Hopefully next time it will be five star!

Kind regards,
Toby Carvery Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my partner for a quick dinner,food was ok,was really quiet and the veg left a lot to be desired with over cooked parsnips etc but can’t really complain too much as the price was crazy cheap

Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies that it was not to our usual high standards.

We do agree that our Carvery is great value for money. Please feel free to inform our team if anything is not to your liking and we will do our utmost to rectify this for you.

We do hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Toby Carvery Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great staff, very friendly, good quality food , great choice and very reasonable. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi gdm123.

Wow, what a lovely review! We always appreciate when people take the time to let us know they have had a pleasant experience with us.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Toby Carvery Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm also viewed

 
Bathgate, West Lothian
 
Bathgate, West Lothian
Bathgate, West Lothian
 

Been to Toby Carvery Bathgate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing