We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Goose Cottage

Goose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Goose Cottage
Living / dining area with arched window facing West Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Goose Cottage
Living / dining area with arched window facing West
Second bedroom
Living / dining area
Living / dining area with window to private garden
Living / dining area
Woodburning stove
Main bedroom
Shower room
Kitchen
Private enclosed garden
Goose cottage from garden
Views to Edinburgh from both bedrooms
Private enclosed garden
Fields surrounding the steading
Fire guard for young children on request
Winter 2010 in the surrounding countryside
View from the bedrooms in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Celtaidd
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Goose Cottage is a well-appointed cottage a bit south of Edinburgh, located in an area where it is easy and convenient to visit many wonderful sites, including Edinburgh, Stirling, Abbotsford, and even St. Andrews.

The cottage itself is luxurious, clean, and comfortable. The beds are especially wonderful, and my husband and I slept really well the whole week we were there. The kitchen is well-appointed, and the living room is quite comfortable. We also had wifi in the cottage.

Lisa is a wonderful host, very kind and helpful. One day a tire in our rental car went flat, and Lisa had a pump to put some air in it, and then she got in her own car and led us to a tire shop where the tire was fixed. Talk about above and beyond! We were extremely grateful to her.

Goose Cottage is a five-star place, and I highly recommend it. It has everything anyone would want, and it also has a terrific host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds!
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like about this cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you so much ! Really glad everything was as you wished. It was lovely to meet you both and I did enjoy our chat Jane. I do hope that the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable and you had a good journey back to Michigan. I also hope you will both come and visit Goose Cottage again. Kind Regards Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBear37...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, good location”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have had a lovely time visiting Scotland for the first time with the family. We chose this cottage for its location and transport links and were not disappointed.
On arrival we found home made scones and jam and Lisa had very kindly seen our Tesco shop in and had put everything away.
The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and had everything required of a holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location for transport links
Liked least: No Local Pub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review ! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the cottage and were satisfied with everything. It was amazing what you packed into your visit to Scotland in one week ! I hope that you will consider visiting again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Goose Cottage is Home From Home”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have nothing but warm words for Goose Cottage. Very clean and tidy when we arrived. Welcome basket of biscuits and jams. All the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. Close to Bathgate and its station and restaurants and other amenities. Warm welcome from Lisa. We had a fabulous time and returned from our holiday feeling that we had experienced the best of Scottish hospitality. Warmly recommend this as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aomahoney...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB IN EVERY WAY!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of staying in Goose Cottage for a week with my family and it was a delight from beginning to end. This wonderful cottage is perfectly situated by the main roads leading to central and most sought for areas in Scotland. The cottage itself is on a farm in a beautiful spot and Lisa is a hostess full of kindness. It was wonderful to arrive at a spotless 'home away from home' greeted by a basket of delicious treats. Everything one can think of to make his holiday a delight can be found at this cottage. It is spacious, light, with a lovely garden and a fantastic view of the fields. I could not recommend it more! I look forward to future opportunities to visit Scotland and there is no question as to the preferred accommodation. Goose Cottage is the place to be! 5 Stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the state of the cottage is phenomenal! clean, everything feels fresh and nothing short of delightful!
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the beds and the black-out blinds in the bedrooms. We slept until Noon the first day as a result....a
Liked least: No soap dish in the shower (could't think of anything else to say) :-)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;