We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
178
74
39
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
74
39
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of skye outdoor activities ferry terminal food was fantastic hotel is beautiful fantastic place dining rooms exploring the island family room stunning surroundings little pricey both nights leave your car warm welcome staff were welcoming balcony suite high standard
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Great lodge, spent here 2 nights, they offer activities as well, rooms are good, shower is a little small, service is great. The island itself is amazing, offers a great drive and hikes. Breakfast is good, dinner was very good and there is a great bar.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Yaron1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Raasay_House, Manager at Raasay House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to Raasay House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Fantastic place to stay. You need a ferry to go to this House on this very small island. Choose a suite with balcony other rooms could less nice. The silence is perfect and the view on the other side of the loch unforgetable.

Room Tip: ony the suites are very nice. unique view from your room. Sunset shadows*****
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-PierreDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Raasay_House, Manager at Raasay House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your this kind review and for the room recommendation of one of our Deluxe Rooms. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The house looks stunning from the outside especially when you arrive on the island by the ferry. It actually is very close to the ferry station you can park your car at the ferry station on the mainland and avoid paying the high ferry fees. You pay per car as well as per person if that makes any sense! About the hotel, you would expect the inside to be as grand as the outside but it is not. The renovated interior looks cheapish and basic but practical. The reception is very basic and managed by one person. The building is very old and made up of 3 floors. There is no elevator so expect to carry your luggage all the way up if you are on the top floors. Inside the building is like a maze. We had to pass through 7 doors to get to our room on the 3rd floor. Only the rooms in the front of the house have good views. The rooms are relatively small but clean and well maintained. The showers are stand-up and very small. The only restaurant on the entire island is at the Raasay House and you have to make a reservation for your dinner. We dined there 2 twice and the food was excellent. The bar is open until midnight. There is an old and unique library with old wooden shelfs, furniture and a fireplace. It is eerily quiet in there. The House offers lots of sporty activities like fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, rafting and arching - but they are not that cheap. The island is so pretty but has nothing to offer except its beautiful nature. There is only a distillery but no shop, restaurants not even a clinic. The ferry captain mentioned that they have recently added an ambulance to the island that is parked at the ferry station. And they will operate the ferry in case of an emergency. There are only 150 residents on the entire island and sheep everywhere. We chose this hotel to see Isle of Skye. Skye is really beautiful and has lots to offer. You really need a car to get around and see every corner of the Skye.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We had a family room for two nights. The room was spacious and clean. No elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up. Taking the ferry was fun especially for the kids. The specials in the restaurant for dinner were excellent. If you have young children eat early because once they get busy the service becomes quite slow. We didn't have any issues with noise in the evenings and spent our time during the day on Skye.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily_00516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Raasay_House, Guest Relations Manager at Raasay House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

I have mixed emotions on this place..... Stunning and very picturesque building looking at it from the front... Which has not long been renovated but sadly not to my taste.
From a building of this quality and character I would expect the inside to be as grand and gull of character but sadly it was all so very plane with modern plasterboard feel to all rooms except the library which was kept to its original form.
The girl on check in was very miserable and all she wanted to do was be on her phone.
The lad showing us round offered to carry a bag which he struggled to move so could do with some portage for breakfast.
The rooms were at the back of the house overlooking a very untidy garden and looked nothing like the pics on the internet but more like a activities hostel with not even a tv in our rooms.
Our rooms were very far from the main building and a lot of stairs to climb with no lift at all.
Relaxing outside with a drink was nice overlooking the lake and watching the ferry come in.
The ferry was quite pricy to bring the cover which was £28.
The food at Rassey house was excellent and could not be faulted in any way..... Well done to the chef and his team of waiters who were very obliging in every way. There was nothing else on the island only a few houses, no shops or nothing and felt that Rassey house was more like a hostel than hotel.
My main concerns were if there was a fire or emergency wher someone needed a ambulance it would take a very long time to get any emergency viechle to the property.
Don't think I'd visit here again, I'd rather put the ferry fee towards another hotel on sky and see more of the island as there is so much to see on sky.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Raasay_House, Guest Relations Manager at Raasay House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

The building was ravaged by fire in 2009, a great personal loss to the Raasay community and to the family who had been running the house for 20 odd years. We are painfully aware that the building lost some of its old worldly charm. Whilst we cannot turn back time we have made steps to add new charm and interesting details such as the incredibly precious and unique ceramics appointed around which are original creations by the renowned ceramic artist Frances Priest.

We didn't "keep the library in it’s original form" ...it simply and very luckily did not burn to the ground like the rest of the interal parts of the house in 2009.

The "untidy garden" you describe is an area we do not own or rent. This area is a Victorian garden which has had life breathed back into in recent years by a tireless group of local volunteers. They have even worked for and been granted funding from climate change fund and other sources to make the garden sustainable and beautiful for Raasay generations to come. In fact we are very proud to support and work with this group and a lot of our menu uses organic produce from in this “untidy garden”. You probably ate some salad from there in our restaurant or bistro during your stay.

We have beautiful deluxe rooms overlooking the front of the house with sea views and standard rooms both with TV's (that's if you come to an island like this to watch tv, most of our guest don't) but if you book a budget room on one of the cheapest rates then yes I’m afraid it is at the back of the house, you will not get a sea view but instead the walled garden view.

Because we have a great and varied selection of accomodation we publish photos and extensive descriptions on every booking channel we use. We strongly recommended our guests read these and check the relevant room photos so they can find the best match for their needs.

The ferry price obviously we have no control over.

There is a fire crew on the island who attend fire alarms at Raasay House in the space of 5 minutes (they don't have far to travel). All other emergencies are ambulance from Broadford or Portree Hospital during the day and a helicopter or lifeboat during the night. Both have are used occasionally by the infirm and elderly on the island as well as in the very rare case of a visitor emergency.

It's true the island does not have a lot of shops ( we do have an island based silver jewellery maker and a local store) but we find most folks don't come here for the shopping or hope of a mall......they tend to come here to Climb Dunn Caan, go Coasteering, visit the whisky distillery, visit the beautiful and haunting village of Halling, learn about Sorley MacLean, go kayaking, visit the local silver jewellery maker, go over to explore the tiny tidal island fladda, go eagle spotting, go sailing, visit Calum's Road and find out about his inspiring story, go climbing/abseiling, visit Brochel castle ruins, take a power boat trip to the Isle of Rhona, learn archery etc etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews