We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
206
16
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
16
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedscommunal areasmain buildingisle of skyeliving areabeautiful hosteldrying roombunk housefairy glenamazing viewshuge kitchengreat facilitiesindividual shower roomssocial areatartan curtainsfantastic placecommon room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This was a pleasant surprise after a long drive from Glasgow... Charming Bunkhouses, nestled on a hillside overlooking Uig with great common B & B amenities down below; would highly recommend for those looking for something completely out of the ordinary.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Mishka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Very clean and cozy. Just the right amount of room for 2 people. The views were breathtaking and the staff was very nice. We really appreciated the wi fi and the helpful tips from the staff. There is a clubhouse type building with food too.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AJohnson4355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Staff very friendly and helpful. The setting was stunning and the rooms warm and cosy. Cooking facilities excellent and visitors friendly with a mix of young and older travellers.

The staff acknowledged there was any] issue with their wifi for iOS and mac but could only suggest buy a samsung. On checking the set up the diagnostics tool reproted the set up was not configured correctly for iOS or mac. They need to get this fixed.

Otherwise great place.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyeCowshed, Manager at The Cowshed Boutique Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hello Rob S,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and for your positive comments about your stay.
We're sorry about the issues you experienced with your iPhone until you restarted it, but glad it connected to the network eventually.
Thankfully we haven't experienced issues with any other guests connecting to the internet recently, and considering the majority of these are IOS users I am not sure why you had such a terrible time. We will certainly pass the findings of your diagnostics report on to our computer technician to help us make improvements.

It's unfortunate that this made your stay an overall 3/5, but hope it will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

All the best,
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Superb modern bunkhouse (we got the bus from Portree which dropped us outside) with modern facilities and great hosts. There are a number of pods available aswell but we stayed in a shared room (6 beds). Showers & WC are very good and the kitchen and common area are as you expect modern and kept very clean. Only minor downside is the walk to the Uig Peer is a couple of miles, but a great walk with a great view. If you want to eat out at one of the local pubs/hotels make sure you book before......we had some issues getting dinner walking up with no booking.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Loved this place. Stayed in a pod for 2 nights with my two children aged 13 and 10. The views and sunsets were amazing. Location is great for north of island and ferries. Staff were super friendly and the facilities are all modern, clean and new. We loved our stay at the Cowshed and would recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank skaterwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews