We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
369
171
38
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
171
38
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of skye venison lovely hotel fairy glen mussels owners and staff hotel restaurant new owners amazing food small hotel both nights enjoyed our stay family room the main hotel great view red deer road trip
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We were enticed to visit when looking for a weekend away and a voucher deal led us here. So you might say we happened upon it rather deliberately chose it at the outset. Having said which we could not have done better. Lovely hotel in a good location, great food, lovely breakfast with an excellent choice, Superb local beers on draft in the bar, fabulous choice of whiskies in the snug bar with open fire! The owners and staff were very kind and could not have done more for us.
We had a lovely large room which was cosy and very comfortable.
If I try hard to find a suggestion to improve things further it would only be to say that a pool table or a dart board would have been a nice excuse to have had a few more beers and pass the time on a dark or wet evening. We will look forward to our return and have a lovely packed lunch they prepared us till then.
Also have to say they have invested in wonderful large prints of local photos too to whet the appetite for exploration across the island.

Room Tip: Just ask, you might be lucky and get a view over the bay, but not all rooms have that bonus
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rsjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights end October. I went with a group and had my own room.
Room was clean and comfortable, food was good (good choices) - highly recommend dessert! Bar was great, and all staff were fabulous - friendly and helpful at all times. Would stay again. Thanks all.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Andi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This was our 3rd visit in 2 years,We have been given 3 different rooms each time all have been spotlessly clean. Great atmosphere in the bar area and love the open fire. Dining room is so relaxed with very friendly staff and the menu is always varied with local cuisine. The owner,s tho busy always make time to chat and make you feel at home. The choice of whiskys they have is amazing pity i,m a beer freak so i was surprised with the local beers they had.on offer. We look forward to our next trip already. Thank you all for a perfect stay once again.

Room Tip: Great rooms with great views
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mambo5Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on the 5th Nov ready to catch the boat back to Benbecula the next day. Loved every minute. Dog friendly-awesome food and a very clean bedroom. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are on Skye. Staff are great and it is a well run hotel. I'm sure my husband and I and two labs will be back again. Loved the dinner especially the chocolate and orange cheesecake.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Stayed a few weeks ago for a wedding. The staff could not be more welcoming or helpful, the view of the water was a great selling point for me as well. The food was delicious, and its in a great location as well. I would definitely visit again

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews