We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Loch Mealt View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gordon_dr...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage is quite remote but handy for the attractions in the north of Skye. The facilities are more than adequate although there is no mobile signal or access to wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for reviewing the cottage, it's really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shem82
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay. So many beautiful places around it!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It is a beautifully placed cottage. The area around is very quiet with lovely views around. It's close to the most top attractions in Skye. Me, my wife and kids have spent great time here and will definitely come back. Really loved the sheeps coming to the fence. Kids were thrilled. I am photographer and I was probably even more thrilled then them :). I brought so many beautiful photos back home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and close distance to Skye most beautiful places
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taffi17
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, no wifi - plus other pros and cons....”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Pros:
- good location. Trotternish Penisula of the Isle of Skye offers loads to see and do. The Kilt Rock is 2min drive from the cottage, Old Man of Storr 15min, Quirang 15min, Staffin 10min, Uig and Portree around 30min. Beautiful scenery all around. View from the windows of the cottage amazing. Loads of sheep within few footsteps from the door.
- good standard of the property. Not excellent, but decent and good value for money.
- nice layout
- very comfortable beds. Really good plus nice lining.
- well stocked up, however we still had to buy few things eg. there was washing machine and fabric softener, but no washing powder,; there was only one toilet roll; there was no salt etc.
- kitchen with plenty of essentials in terms of pots and pans, toaster, microwave etc
- electric heaters provided
- parking space
- books, magazines, DVDs, CDs and board games
- instructions for using all the equipment in the house

Cons:
- the biggest issue to start with for me was the fact that I was asked to make booking directly through the agency's website instead of Tripadvisor
- another house directly behind the cottage, however empty during our stay
- no wifi, poor mobile reception
- woobly kitchen chairs, including at least one that has been already glued, which combined with T&C stating liability for any damage was worrying - we moved the chair to the side and have not used it at all
- rubbish bins bit far away
- small TV and very little channels available
- shower has rather weak water pressure, difficult to wash long hair

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuyali99
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house but no wifi”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was great with everything we needed! Also it was in a perfectly clean condition when we came in. Location-wise, it's next to a small lake and the waterfall and is in the middle of two towns: Portree and Staffin. The only drawbacks were there was no internet (cellphone signal was nil) and only 1 bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big, clean and wild!
Liked least: No internet!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loloball
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very quiet, relaxing lovely views”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We felt this was a nice wee chalet with nice views over the fields where the sheep graze and in the further distance views of Loch Mealt. Nice and quiet. Very peaceful. Very relaxing. Very private (except where someone turns up and stays in the owners holiday house right behind the chalet) which felt intrusive. TV was too small. Door didn't lock from the inside except for a bolt. Storage heater in living room didn't work. The toilet leaked. The bathroom only had a shower and it was too small for us. The single bed mattresses were not good enough. Kitchen very well stocked with everything needed to prepare and cook food. Take ur own condiments and herbs/spices. Advise get ur shopping in Portree co op but not the co op right in the centre of town as very small, busy and parking difficult. Advise larger co op for shopping as you come into Portree past petrol station, take road to Dunvegan and co op is just before Jewsons in what almost could be an industrial estate. Would recommend Ellishadder art cafe for a cup of tea and cake but lunch menu we found restrictive and expensive. Cafe is easy walk from chalet, as is Staffin museum but we didn't get to see inside (except through the windows) as has very restrictive opening times and even then we didn't find it open. It is a very very small museum. Very close to Staffin which has 2 cafe's: one attached to the limited stocked Mace shop, a nicer and larger cafe attached to Columba 1400 (a residential project to help adolescents) and there is another small shop further north on the way out of Staffin which has a couple of petrol pumps. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much at the chalet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing