We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb facilities with amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
journeywo...
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb facilities with amazing views”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed with my 2 adult daughters as their introduction to Scotland. TRV didn't disappoint and while the weather was mixed, we always had a cosy place to return to for a hot shower, brilliant cooking facilities and that wonderful view of the Skye landscape! We're missing our sheep and geese neighbours already and will hopefully return to this peaceful and pretty corner of Skye one day. Thanks very much for all our good memories, Norman!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla D
Roseville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tremendous holiday - thank you!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent two weeks in Trotternish Ridge View with our London-based son, daughter-in-law and their two little sons. We could not have chosen a better place. Everything was there, there was enough room to not be in each other's way, it was a lovely place to stay, clean, comfortable and the views were just magnificent! It changed every day, sometimes the mountains were completely gone, other times we saw a wonderful misty landscape. We were lucky with one full really warm and sunny week! But even rain (it never rains hard though, we in Australia know real rain!) We explored much of the island and there is still so much to see and do! Pity Australia is that far away... No complaints from us in any way, only a BIG thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were unblievable!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H
Dahab, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Trotternish View”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just had 2 fantastic weeks on the Isle of Skye made even better by staying at Trotternish Ridge View Cottage.
The house is very clean, modern and very very roomy!! It has great views from the almost totally glassed fronted sitting room windows out across to the ridge.
We were lucky enough to have numerous Buzzard sightings from the comfort of our reclining leather seats...Not lucky enough to see Golden eagles from the house but we did see them from the Quiraing which is just a couple of minutes from the house.
Although a bit boggy, there is a good walk along the river that passes close to the house that will lead you to the ridge and a few small waterfalls and even a few scattered pieces from a bomber that crashed into the ridge.
You open the curtains early morning to see what the weather is like up at the Quiraing and the Storr and decide if it's a walk or close the curtains and get back into bed.
Just a great location and a great house...
We would definitely stay here again (only a short drive to Glenview hotel and Skye pie cafe)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big house, views, quiet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
tranent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is large, clean and modern with spectacular views of Trotternish Ridge. It is very quiet and relaxing. The cottage has good internet and good kitchen with utility room and a laundry facilities. It is very quiet and isolated we loved sitting looking out the full length windows very comfortable, modern, spacious and exceptionally well furnished and equipped with modern appliances and lots of extra touches. The location, it is down a single track road with sheep and cows for neighbours . The location of the house is perfect with beautiful views all around so peaceful yet not too far from shops etc. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazzybee9...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally awesome place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first stay at Trotternish Ridge View, so I did not know what to expect. Lets just say that my expectations were exceeded in every way. Such a delightful place to stay, so comfortable, peaceful and quiet. The leather sofas were great, and so were the beds, which you just sink into. The kitchen was very high spec, and I was impressed with the facilities. As for the location, it is down a single track road in a hamlet with 8 properties I believe. The view from the lounge is awesome. Although there are neighbouring properties, you cannot see them or hear them. I was hoping for a peaceful break, and this place delivered it and more. Perfect location for walkers, and the owners provide a few excellent suggestions for walks. I visited the Quiraing, Fairy Glen, Fairy Pools, and the Diatomite Railway walk. Even the walk down the single track road was beautiful, with the view of the Trotternish Ridge. I cannot reccommend this place highly enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location.
Liked least: Nothing I didnt like!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing