We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
121
89
20
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
89
20
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way street flights of stairs winding steps isle of skye would highly recommend this hotel place to stay a small car park excellent room no elevator rooms are clean and comfortable nice shower big breakfast one night stay reception area wonderful hotel breakfast was included centre of town
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Much better than we expected, good value for the money. Very friendly staff, clean and very modern room and vara nice breakfast. Only one problem, there were no lift but the staff helped us with our bags.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anders I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonian Hote... P, Public Relations Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you again as our guest on your next visit to the Isle of Skye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this town centre hotel and found it comfortable but great. The room was newly decorated but cheaply done so will probably be shabby soon. Only one bedside table & lamp for double bed. Our view from window was across grotty back yards and an abandoned, mouldy matteress. A lot of very steep stairs up to hotel reception from the street, which might be difficult for some guests. Small car park at the rear allows easy access at reception/room level with luggage.
Good central location and comfortable accommodation.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KirbyGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We were assigned this hotel as part of a tour package, so we didn't know what to expect. For easy entry, go behind the building and right next to the co-op is an alley entrance for parking. A lot less stairs if you enter this way. The hosts are warm and hospitable. Breakfast is good. Quiet and lovely room. Great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k0k0pelli333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonian Hote... P, Guest Relations Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks for your kind review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for providing useful information for our future guests regarding the car park and the entrance of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Caledonian Hotel does everything right. It's easy to book on-line and check in was very efficient. The staff is helpful and there's a small parking lot in the back. The hotel is old (lots of character) with lots of steps. A bit challenging to get the luggage in without an elevator but manageable. The rooms look recently renovated and are surprisingly modern and nice. Very quiet. Would definitely stay again if we return to Portree.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank buddog245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a very central location in Portree, handy for shops and places to eat, (the hotel is on a Bed and Breakfast basis). Although I have to say the traditional Scottish breakfast is excellent and the choices are varied. The staff are exceptional. Nothing too much for them. I felt at home at the Caledonian. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Will definitely be back for a leisure vsit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonian Hote... P, Guest Relations Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thanks for your kind review. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews