We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking”
other travellers have booked this property
Side of apartment and view down the garden to the Sound of Raasay from the seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side of apartment and view down the garden to the Sound of Raasay from the seating area
Looking down on Peinachorran from Glamaig Side view of Braes Retreat with Glamaig Hill in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Side of apartment and view down the garden to the Sound of Raasay from the seating area
Looking down on Peinachorran from Glamaig
Side view of Braes Retreat with Glamaig Hill in the background
Kitchen area and lounge
Rhododendrons in the garden
Lounge and dining area
Garden in Spring
The stream in the garden
View from the bedroom
View to Peinachorran from An Aird, Braes
Colours in the garden
Glamaig from the garden
View from upstairs down to the sound of Raasay
Snow-covered Red Cuillin mountains from the Braes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christina...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first time in Scotland and on Skye. It was wonderful. Iain and Ingrid are so kind and the cottage is wonderful.
It was very peaceful and relaxing. The garden is lovely and the view is absolutly fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the garden, everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Figh01
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Blue Skye days!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Idyllic retreat set in beautiful gardens with fabulous views. We have had a wonderful stay, Ian is an excellent host and the cottage was warm and comfortable. The log burner was lit for our arrival which was lovely. Plenty of walks from the house along a quiet and unspoilt stretch of coast. A real get away from it all break .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleycum...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Although the description states the property is in Portree, it feels miles away. About 3 miles from Portree, set down winding roads with ever changing views, it is amazing, we regularly saw buzzards and eagles. The property itself does not disapoint, well equipped warm & cosy. Which is good given the changeable weather in Skye. Iain & family are very welcoming but not intrusive.Alfie the labrador is very friendly,and the girls sell REALLY fresh free range eggs. We had a great time & left having recharged our batteries. If you want a peaceful base, but close to all the must do walks etc, then I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Braes Retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirP60
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second visit to Braes Retreat and we will return again.

A cosy apartment, very comfortable bed with a view of the sea and Rassay without getting up.

The log fire is very welcome especially after walking in Skye's Cullins.

Iain and Ingrid are very friendly and helpful.

Superb and thank you again.

Gerard P

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb apartment in wonderful setting”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were really impressed with this apartment, probably the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in and we have stayed in a lot! It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The cool weather meant that the wood burning stove was very much appreciated. The owners garden was quite something and it was kind of them to allow us free access to it.
The only downside was the car parking for guests. Reversing through a gateway down a very steep slope never got any easier!.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Its been a chilly spring, but we are glad you made use of the fire.
There is space to park on the roadside if guests have difficulty parking on the drive. Thank you for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing