We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SUPERB SKYE CROFT”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lynn78
West Midlands, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB SKYE CROFT”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival at Skye Croft it was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. All furnishings are of excellent quality and both bed and sofa are very comfortable. The Croft is in a wonderful location and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The log burner makes it very cosy even if the weather is bad, and the heated floor in the bathroom was great. We saw seals swimming on a daily basis and numerous sea birds. If you walk to the end of the peninsula (around 10 mins) you see even more seals. I counted around 30 the day before we left, they were all bobbing around in the sea looking at me on the rocks, it was an amazing experience.
The croft is in a wonderful location for touring Skye. We toured all around the island, Skye is an amazing Island and hopefully we will return one day. If we do we will definately stay at Skye Croft.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydoros
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Skye Croft Bliss!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Having just stayed at the Skye Croft for 3 nights, the base for a great trip, allowed us to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the evenings after a long day of taking in the sights and sounds of the Isle of Skye! Easily found using the sat nav, to look at the pictures is one thing but to see the Croft itself in person, makes you fall in love with it immediately and dream of one day having your own Skye Croft (we can but dream!). A short drive from Portree, where you can stock up at the Co-Op, take in the village and harbour then drive north where part of the discovery of Skye begins!

On the Sunday, the weather was against us but we battled on up north to take in the Old Man of Storr, the Kilt Rock waterfall, Flora MacDonald's gravesite (the woman behind the story of the Skye Boat song) and finished the day with the Fairy Glen, everything is well sign posted! On the Monday, we set out east to Dunvegan to take in the sights of Dunvegan Castle and a bite to eat at 'Skye's Oldest Bakery', great little place! Returning via the A863 and B885 which had some coastal views, then some inland driving which was great as the roads were quiet and all you can see is hills and green as far as the eye could see (with the odd sheep and Highland cow saying hello).

In the evenings, we made dinner with everything we needed there for us, lit up the log burning stove and stuck a DVD on! The bed was unbelievably comfortable, making it hard to get up in the mornings and the bathroom with, walk in shower and heated flooring was everything we needed to get ready for the day!

Gail really has built the perfect getaway and our stay was everything and then some, with the welcome and having handy books and maps to plan our days, we didn't need the sat nav! We stayed for 3 nights but to fully discover the Isle of Skye, I would recommend, if you can, get to the Skye Croft for 4/5 days to take it all in! Beautiful Croft, beautiful island! When the opportunity arises, we will be back, time and time again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Skye Croft itself and the fact there was NO internet, so you were off the radar!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
181ds
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Skye escape!”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Skye Croft is the perfect destination for a relaxing escape. Close enough to Portree to be easy to get to but remote enough to feel incredibly tranquil, especially as you watch the seals playing in the sea in front of the croft.

Comfy bed, excellent shower, lovely wood burner and well equipped kitchen .... and most importantly amazing views from the french doors and decking.

The owner Gail was also very friendly and helpful.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Skye Croft.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanSkye
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Warm, and well-equipped serenity.....”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived at dusk just after Christmas to find a warm respite at the end of a long journey. This is a modern and tastefully decorated cottage with plenty of room for two. The home was spotless and the owner had taken the time to write us a handwritten greeting. Guide books and information about the area helped us get acquainted quickly with the area. The heated floor in the bathroom was heavenly! The view out onto the Loch was spectacular and the wood burning stove set the perfect stage to enjoy a bottle of wine. The address is 65 Aird Bernisdale if you want to set your SatNav. There is a sign on the A850 which points to Aird Bernisdale and it is about a mile down the road. Relatively easy to find and off street parking to make turning around easy. We will definitely return again because it is the perfect location and the owner has gone out of her way to make you feel at home.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and warmth
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place, nicely located and well equipped.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I felt at home immediately. It is a very cosy little house for 1 or 2 persons. The view is nice and it has everything you need!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing