We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish it was "Our home in Skye"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Anchorage

The best place to be!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye
Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Always dramatic!
Fishing boats always passing
Otters on the rocks by the house
Wonderful summer days on Skye
The small fishing harbour is just 30 seconds walk away.
Otters by the house
Castle Moil is a nice half hour round walk from the house- just beware the tide!
Aga cooking at its best!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
charlie01...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish it was "Our home in Skye"”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed at another cottage ib Kyleakin last year because of no availability MISSED being ON the Loch
This has nthe best views in KyleaKIN
something GOING ON ALL THE TIME
Worth every penny

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
2 reviews
“Perfect cosy magic”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A beautiful cottage in a great location, perfect for exploring the island. Warm and cosy, and really nicely decorated it was a wonderful place to return to after a day on the mountains! Exactly as the website and pictures showed. Even better for us was the exact location. Walking distance to Kyleakin and a great view of the stunning Skye bridge.
If you are lucky you will see otters outside. I have a short film on youtube but I couldn't attach it here because of the rules. But if you go and get lucky you can make your own otter-movie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the aga
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for the review Sam. I'm glad you had a good time and worry able to see otters thanks for the great video So much for the review Sam. I'm glad you had a good time and worry able to see otters. thanks for the great video of them too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionabrad...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A wonderful cottage - right by the sea with fantastic views from every room. Perfectly furnished, with wood burner and Aga. Comfortable beds, cosy sofas, a lovely garden - absolutely nothing not to like. We even watched an otter catch and eat his breakfast, right from the sitting room window. Magical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thanks for the feedback Fiona. Much appreciated and I'm glad you saw one of our lovely otters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass36...
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage by the Sea :)”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just arrived home from the Anchorage. A beautifully decorated cottage that has a real homely feeling. It is very easy to find and is a great base for exploring the Isle of Skye! The views from the cottage are amazing! We could have stayed in the sun room all day watching the boats go by and taking photos of the wildlife right on our doorstep! We had one good day with no rain! And then it rained non stop! So we made good use of the log burner in the evenings after exploring...making it feel very warm and cosy! :) The Aga made it feel very warm in the mornings while having some coffee from the cool nespresso machine in the kitchen! Friendly neighbours took time to ask us how our stay was. We had no problems throughout our stay at the cottage and hope to visit again in the summer (maybe with some sunshine) :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
404jinty4...
Coldstream, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful holiday cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a lovely cottage with a superb standard in everything. The owner is very attentive and was so considerate when there was a problem in the house. .We enjoyed our stay so much that we are now booked for next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the sun room and the aga was brilliant
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing