We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
27
15
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
15
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drying room fairy pools remote location beautiful location hear everything main road other guests minute drive stayed for nights dorm cuillins snore carbost hikers stove scotland noise
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our family with 3 boys ages 12,9 and 8 stayed here 2 nights in late June and made amazing memories.

Lodging:
We reserved a full room and found it to be clean and exceeded our expectations. The bathrooms were clean and had warm showers. The laundry area only takes the old coins, so come prepared. Each evening the patrons would meet up in the lounge and chat about the day's activities. The kitchen was great for making your breakfasts.

Location:
Idyllic location. The boys promptly started wading in the stream, skipping rocks and climbing down to a waterfall. Parents, keep your eyes on small children near the waterfall across the street. We hiked to the top of the Munro directly in front of the hostel, Sgurr Benachdich. It took our family 7 hours to get to the top and back with breaks. We lucked out with perfect weather, but bad weather could make this a very rough trek.
The fairy pools are a 5 minute drive. It gets crowded unless you go earlier in the morning or later in the evening.

Dining:
Kitchen with refrigerator at the hostel.
The Old Inn in Carbost is now one of my favorite restaurants in the world. Amazing mussels, scallops, fish, beer, etc. The wi-fi there is spotty. Great place for kids to skip rocks while waiting for meal. Some evenings they have live music, but get there early due to crowd.

Tip: be sure to communicate directly with the hostel vs with the hostel company. We had to make alterations to our arrival and found that the hostel hadn't been notified, despite our communication with the hostel company.

I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glenbrittle Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Scott F
Thanks for your kind review and its great to see you and the family had a good time,We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

You will need a car to negotiate the miles of single track/passing place only road, but a great base to see the Fairy Pools and so some great walks in the hills.
The hostel itself was clean, staff were friendly, and the toilet/kitchen facilities were more than adequate.

It was very rainy (it's Scotland!) but when the sun was shining, the scenery was just beautiful.

We've been on Skye loads of times, but the first in that area. Will definitely visit again, and stay here again.

Room Tip: All views are good!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glenbrittle Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Globetrotter478
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in this hostel. It is in a remote location with stunning scenery and great access to the Cuillin. The accommodation is simple but comfortable and the hostel is kept very well. The staff were extremely helpful, going well beyond the call of duty when we had a flat tyre on our car.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexdw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glenbrittle Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi alexdw91
Thanks for your great review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in June to do hillwalking in the Cuillins and celebrate my birthday by climbing the In Pinn. Endured some very wet weather - drying room wasn't effective at all unfortunately.
Youth hostel itself in perfect location for accessing the cuillins. We had a private 2 person room, spacious. No sound proofing between rooms so take ear plugs!
Good showers / toilet room.
Kitchen huge with adequate fridge & cooking facilities. Plenty room in kitchen and communal area to eat and socialise with other guests.
Take all you'll need for food/drink as nowhere near to but anything.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lyndawilson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glenbrittle Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi lyndawilson72,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see overall you had a good time and have noted the points you have raised regarding the drying room,We will have a look to see where we can improve this.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

This hostel has really great scenery but it's pretty off the beaten path. The only road to is is a one lane, two way road for about 7-9 miles off the main road. If you want to go to and from in a car, which you'll pretty much need to because getting here by public trans (impossible) or foot would be rough, it can get tedious. It's set in a really beautiful location, really close to the fairy pools which you'll pass on your way in and out on the road. There's no wifi in the location which can be nice if you want to disconnect but a pain if you actually need or want to check something. Keep in mind you'll have to drive 15-20 mins to find any food, wifi, etc. It became clear after we booked and arrived that most of the people here are on the hiking plan, and we were not, so we were kinda out of our element.

The hostel is very clean and well kept, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen is very nice. Breakfast is available in the morning for 4 pounds but they didn't tell us we had to reserve the night beforehand... They still left us something which was really nice, but it wasn't that great... No biggie though.

The owner seemed very knowledgable and was decently helpful when trying to decide on where to go or what to do. He was very nice but communication seemed off because even though we both speak the same language he didn't mention things at check in that probably should have been mentioned and there was just a lack of fluidity in conversation.

Either way the staff here were very nice and the location seems prime for hikers and those who want to be off by the coast, a ways away from civilization and don't mind the hike or decent drive just to find food or the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaRoseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glenbrittle Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Rose S
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you ahd a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews