We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic bunking at its best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Winter sunset at Bothan Beileag
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winter sunset at Bothan Beileag
Enjoy breakfast in bed, as standard! The huts are bespoke, and have been made by the hand of a master craftsman
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Winter sunset at Bothan Beileag
Enjoy breakfast in bed, as standard!
The huts are bespoke, and have been made by the hand of a master craftsman
Gilbert and George love ear rubs and carrots...
Local seafood is available to enjoy at many nearby restaurants
One of our dogs, Caileag, keeping watch!
The views towards the wild beauty of Knoydart
We are open all year, 365 days.
Bespoke interiors offer comfort and warmth, plus all you should need to make your stay special
Shepherd huts are ever-popular with those looking for a unique romantic getaway.
The weather outside doesn't matter too much when you have a cosy stove and a good book ~ duvet
Dramatic skies and views are a way of life
Snow capped peaks of Knoydart from the hut
Dawn.
Fergus, one of our cats
Special occasions celebrated in best hutting style ~ champagne, chocolates, flowers, just ask
The croft is covered in beautiful, rare wild flowers in the summer, including orchids.
The summerhouse, gas BBQ and firepit area for you to enjoy
Book with confidence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Al U
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic bunking at its best!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Janet was a great host and the stay was a wonderful one. We especially loved all the including George and Gilbert the donkeys!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millymiln...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just heaven....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for just 2 nights at the end of April. Wow - where to start? When we pulled up the huts after quite a long and stressful drive we were a little doubtful whether we had done the right thing - not being very 'outdoorsy' types. We couldn't have been more wrong. Within minutes of being here the stress just melted away!

Janet was fantastic - the perfect host. Her friendly, very laid-back and helpful nature was spot on, she was always available if we needed her but we always felt like we had the place to ourselves too. All her animals are very lovely too - we particularly had a soft spot for Ron.

The huts themselves are just incredible. The detail, comfort and luxury puts these at a 5* class of accommodation for me. The bed was very cosy and comfortable and have not slept so well in months. There is everything you could possibly want and probably more than you would find in most high quality hotels rooms. The highlight (for my fiancee definitely) would have to be the woodburning stove - although the huts are actually so well insulated we didn't really need it! I would have no worries about coming back in midwinter!

The views from the huts are stunning also and watching the sun rise over the mountains in the distance from a comfy bed was the highlight of our whole trip.

Then there is the breakfast - which again is just an incredibly high quality. Such a huge choice and really generous portions and tasty way to start the day! Was the best breakfast we had on our week away for sure.

The lovely summer house and fire pit is worth mentioning also as it is again really kitted out to a high standard. You could easily prepare a full evening meal as there is an induction hob, gas BBQ and little oven in here and every utensil you could ever need. We were lucky enough to have the fire pit to ourselves but I don't think it would be crowded if we hadn't have.

We were devastated we hadn't booked for longer and would have happily stayed for another week. I can't recommend the Shepherd huts enough. It is a great 'get away from it all' break, the perfect place to relax and unwind. We will definitely be looking to stay again as soon as we can. Thank you very much for our lovely stay - Laura and Paul :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose53fd
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Little Retreat”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Bothean Beileag for 3 nights. Janet, the owner, has thought of everything. The huts are funky and extremely well equipped. In September on Skye, the weather isn't always perfect, so to come back to a lovely cosy hut with a comfy bed and wood burning stove is just sublime. A breakfast of fresh free range eggs, home made bread, fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice set us up for the day. On our last night we decided to make use of the barbecue, and Janet, as it had been our wedding anniversary, appeared with a bottle of wine. She is the perfect host and I cannot recommend a stay there highly enough.
PS. The views are also pretty special!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit J
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic, Rugged and simply Perfect. (Travel Agents Review)”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Just a hop and jump over the Skye Bridge to the town of Broadford, and then a wee skip to the village of Heasta, the first thing you will see (Other than the odd wayward sheep) is the cosy Shepherd Huts, Bothan Buidheag and Bothan Beileag.
Skye Shepherd Huts are private, cosy, self contained little huts set back from the road. Surrounded by the sprawling expanse of the Scottish Highlands with all its romantic, rugged charm, this quiet, friendly accommodation is perfect for couples.
Janet is the perfect Hostess, she has overlooked nothing with her careful consideration to all her guests needs and wants. With her friendly welcoming nature and her yummy breakfast options, you will be wanting to stay "just another night" or "just another weekend".
Despite being small, you will find that all your needs have been incorporated in your cleverly laid out hut. There's hot and cold running water, a sink and mirror, a kettle, toaster, even a hairdryer!! The bed is soft and perfect for snuggling up against the frosty Skye night, and the gorgeous little Hobbit wood stove is the perfect companion, completing this serene picture of rustic bliss is a range of coffees and teas ready for an evening of relaxing.
The Bathroom with wonderful local made soaps, fluffy robes and steaming hot shower is just a small walk from your hut, and Janet has set up a little tourist desk full of reading material on things to do around Skye, if you were unsure how to spend your days. The Fairy Pools are within easy distance and definitely worth a look!
Once you've exhausted yourself of the many adventurous activities the Isle offers (Horse riding & Hiking to name a few), the Isle of Skye boasts some of the most amazing dark skies perfect for Star gazing.... I know, how romantic right?!
In my profession I have been fortunate enough to travel to many amazing corners of our world, and although I have always loved the trips I have gone on, I have never really felt the need to post my opinion on a website and rave about how amazing a place was.... until now. Skye Shepherd huts are truly an amazing and unique way to holiday. It's not just accommodation, its an experience.
Thank you so much for having us to stay Janet, hopefully we can make it back to see you again some day soon. I will carry the memories of my time on Skye with me for the rest of my days, I'm sure.
If you're thinking about staying here, think no more, just book it, you won't regret it, promise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2013
Thank you for your most generous review. I am so happy that your stay was enjoyable and memorable, and that you will remember your visit to this little corner of the world. With best wishes, Janet @ SSH :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHI S
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing