We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Tidal Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy living room with log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The cosy living room with log burner.
Fully equipped kitchen with electric hob, double oven and dishwasher.
The dining area in the kitchen and looking back towards the living room.
The spacious hall and stairs leading to the double bedroom. Plenty of room for jackets and boots!
The light and airy double bedroom.
The luxurious bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower.
Tidal Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne28
Twickenham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a fantastic, cosy, well equipped cottage. Every small detail has been taken care of and the view from the cottage is beautiful. One of the best cottages we've stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJ15T
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

With amazing views from almost every window this beautifully restored cottage is a truly wonderful place to stay. Robert and Janet are the most welcoming couple and are on hand if there are any problems, or to give visitor tips. We were very comfortable and were sorry when the time came to leave. As previous reviewers have remarked it is conveniently located for Broadford and the South but we also drove up to the far North West and found it to be quite leisurely and manageable in a day, even when combined with several hours walking. Just one drawback, the sheltered location and proximity to the water make this a midge prone area, so we could not sit outside in the evening when the weather was nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 4ft 6in bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izabelle6...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquillity..!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful week, very much helped by the lovely weather. The cottage was beautifully renovated by Robert & Janet but still the character remained. Lots of fun playing with the neighbours 2 collies (hope they didn’t mind.?) Lovely walk into Broadford which has a great range of amenities, especially enjoyed Cafecia. Hope to revisit soon..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83blonde
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect - we couldn't have asked for anything more”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We struck gold when we chose the Tidal Cottage, we had a wonderful 3 nights here. The cottage is the perfect size for a couple. For the same price of a hotel room a stay here is fantastic value and we valued both the freedom and privacy it gave us.

On arrival the kitchen table had been laid out for two with two small bottles of white wine waiting for us - such an unexpected and thoughtful touch. Basics such as tea bags, coffee and milk were waiting for us which meant we could settle in instead of having to find a shop straight away. The kitchen has everything you need.

The location is amazing, easy to get to and near the bottom of the island, which was a relief as we drove from down south to get there. The view is heartbreakingly beautiful - it is as good, if not better than the pictures here. It was such a treat to wake up to the view or to to sit in bed or the roll top bath with a glass of wine looking out over it. We spent lots of time in the morning and evening taking photos. You can't usually continue the sight seeing once you get back to your accommodation!

Special mention for the wood burning stove, that made an evening in feel very special, and for the shower which is as spacious, powerful and as hot as they come.

We would thoroughly recommend the tidal cottage to anybody!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsCMH
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked Tidal Cottage for 4 nights in October 2013 and it was perfect, a fantastic base from which to explore Skye . The location is a good choice, just a few miles from the bridge meaning we were able to visit Plockton and the surrounding area on the mainland easily, as well as being within an hour or so's drive of the key tourist spots on the island.

The cottage looks very traditional but has all the mod cons to make your stay restful and relaxing. We particularly liked the underfloor heating, the roll top bath with a beautiful view of the water and mountains (we spent a lot of time in the bath!) as well as the log burner in the lounge. It's absolutely perfect for a couple - the cottage is effectively completely open plan but small enough to feel cosy at the same time.

The owners Rab and Janet were very welcoming and when we had a small problem with something in the cottage they went out of their way to get it fixed ASAP. They were genuinely determined that we had a comfortable, enjoyable stay and couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome. Rab has some interesting stories about the cottage's restoration too!

All in all a wonderful break in a beautiful, homely cottage. If you are looking for a place to stay in Skye this is the one! Book it now, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing